Trane Furnace Problem - Can't Figure Out! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


Let me start out by saying I am a complete novice and not mechanically inclined at all. I am writing here to get other opinions besides that of the HVAC company I'm using.

Here's what the furnace (Trane TUE080a936L0, XB80 model, nearly 10 years old) is doing:

1) The inducer motor starts, then nothing else happens. It then stops and restarts, then works properly.

or

2) The inducer motor starts, the ignitor glows, I hear a hiss of natural gas (and smell it), nothing else happens. It stops and restarts, then works properly.

or

1) then 2) above, then on the third try it works properly.

These problems are intermittent. The furnace can work for many cycles before malfunctioning.

The HVAC company has replaced the thermostat, the flame sensor, and finally the motherboard. These were all done in the last 3 days. A couple of years ago the ignitor was replaced.

I am at wits end. I don't want to replace the furnace if it could be something they're overlooking.

I would appreciate any input you can provide. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

fedupfurnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:19 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


quick update: the furnace failed 3 times and locked out. the blinking led was 2 flashes...which just means that the furnace tried 3 times then failed. There's no indication of what might be the problem. All 3 tries, the system got to the point where gas is injected then it failed.

Advertisement

fedupfurnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:24 PM   #3
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


I would check all the connectors, wires .... must have poor contact somewhere
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


Sure there's not a spider egg sack bouncing around in the orifice on that one burner that feeds the HSI? Remove the burner and unscrew the brass orifice to check.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 10:03 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,367
Rewards Points: 1,098
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


clean your burners and crossovers.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:00 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


that ID cycling on a heating call makes me think the stat might be causing the starting problems....did you try jumping R to W right down at the furnace to see if you get a solid start from repowering the 115V safety switch on the furnace....just a thought
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 10:38 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
that ID cycling on a heating call makes me think the stat might be causing the starting problems....did you try jumping R to W right down at the furnace to see if you get a solid start from repowering the 115V safety switch on the furnace....just a thought

Thanks for your advice, however, I don't know anything about this terminology. What doews jumping R to W mean?

Also, here's some further information in case it helps. When the new thermostat was installed, the furnace now comes on many more times than it used to. (Remember the problem was there even with the old thermostat). With the old thermo, it would turn the furnace on when the temperature was 1 degree below setting, then shut off at 1 degree above setting. It now comes on and turns off within tenths of a degree change because the thermostat temperature never changes while it's running.

Since the thermostat was changed and we still have the problem, is it feasible that there could be a wiring issue between the stat and the furnace?

Since we got up this morning, the furnace has run around 10 times with no issues (last 2 hours or so).
fedupfurnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 03:21 PM   #8
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!


remove the stat from the subbase,.....now go down on the furnace and JUMP with a thin stat wire R to W your simulating the stat with no control on temp as long as the jump it there...remove it and the furnace shuts off....that not reading a temp when the heat is running might be something check the configuations on the stat something is doing it do you have setback settings on the new stat as in wake/leave/return/sleep with options for time/temp adjustments for the house and the daily routine?when that inducer motor runs thats the stat calling it in everything else is connected to the air into the burner chamber...pressure switch closes indicating air induced spark and proof of flame and the main gas..... try that straight out jump on R to W either at the stat subbase(in fact do it there to proff out the wires for het down to the boiler) or down at the furnace both should be the same run reaction....might need a rabi or priest in next....

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Trane Gas Furnace - blower on but no flame at burners herbert8101 HVAC 2 09-24-2011 09:23 PM
Another Keeprite Electric furnace problem lrad Electrical 0 10-18-2010 01:24 PM
Trane XE 80 Furnace - flame out and restart Thome HVAC 3 10-12-2009 06:27 PM
Payne furnace problem Laughingchi HVAC 22 05-16-2009 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts