Trane Furnace Problem - Can't Figure Out! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-21-2011, 08:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Trane furnace problem - can't figure out!

Let me start out by saying I am a complete novice and not mechanically inclined at all. I am writing here to get other opinions besides that of the HVAC company I'm using.

Here's what the furnace (Trane TUE080a936L0, XB80 model, nearly 10 years old) is doing:

1) The inducer motor starts, then nothing else happens. It then stops and restarts, then works properly.

or

2) The inducer motor starts, the ignitor glows, I hear a hiss of natural gas (and smell it), nothing else happens. It stops and restarts, then works properly.

or

1) then 2) above, then on the third try it works properly.

These problems are intermittent. The furnace can work for many cycles before malfunctioning.

The HVAC company has replaced the thermostat, the flame sensor, and finally the motherboard. These were all done in the last 3 days. A couple of years ago the ignitor was replaced.

I am at wits end. I don't want to replace the furnace if it could be something they're overlooking.

I would appreciate any input you can provide. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

fedupfurnace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:19 PM   #2

quick update: the furnace failed 3 times and locked out. the blinking led was 2 flashes...which just means that the furnace tried 3 times then failed. There's no indication of what might be the problem. All 3 tries, the system got to the point where gas is injected then it failed.

Advertisement

Old 10-21-2011, 09:24 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

I would check all the connectors, wires .... must have poor contact somewhere