Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2010, 06:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Share |
Unhappy

Trane blower question


I have a Trane TUC080B9V3A0 with the variable speed blower. The blower quit while using AC, and the lines to the outside compressor were iced up and the unit still running. Iced up because of no airflow past A coil in plenum?

Blower was removed from furnace. Motor appeared to spin freely, but 10A cartridge fuse in motor control on end of motor was blown. New fuse blew again when fan was set to on at thermostat. There is 115V to the motor controller when trying to run fan from the thermostat.

How do I determine if I should replace the motor, the controller, or both? Is this a DC motor? How do I just check to see if the motor is still OK? Thanks


Last edited by HVAC dummy; 07-05-2010 at 06:08 AM.
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 08:19 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


Ohm the leads from the motor.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 08:35 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ohm the leads from the motor.
I think there were 4 spade terminals in the connector from the controller to the motor. How are they pinned out? Thanks
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:43 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


Should only be 3 wires from the motor to the module.

Black red green.

Check ohms between each.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 02:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Should only be 3 wires from the motor to the module.

Black red green.

Check ohms between each.

There are 5 total in a connector from the module that plugs directly into the motor. 2 brown, and a red, a black, and a blue. There is 4 ohms between the red, black, and blue in any combination of terminals, and there is .5 ohms between the 2 brown. There is no continuity between either brown, and either the black, red, or blue.

Is this a DC motor? I haven't taken the motor out of the 3 legged bracket to try to read a tag on it.

Thanks for any help.
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 04:51 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


Ok. You don't have a VS blower then. Thats not a DC motor.

Does the one brown wire have a white stripe.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 06:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ok. You don't have a VS blower then. Thats not a DC motor.

Does the one brown wire have a white stripe.

Neither brown wire has a tracer. The schematic on the inside of the blower compartment cover says: integral fan control, variable speed motor. I'm getting warmer, and need my air back! Thanks
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 06:20 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


How old is your furnace?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 08:33 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
How old is your furnace?

I honestly don't know, and I couldn't find any date on the info tag inside the furnace. I don't want it to be time for a new one just yet.
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 08:36 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


Post serial number.

Yours could be an early version VS. They generally came with a 5 year warranty.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 10:12 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
post serial number.

Yours could be an early version vs. They generally came with a 5 year warranty.

d49638140

Last edited by HVAC dummy; 07-05-2010 at 10:13 PM. Reason: typo
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:03 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


I think its a 96.

First generation VS. 2.0 version. If its older then that, it real expensive.

Can you post a pic of the motor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 08:24 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I think its a 96.

First generation VS. 2.0 version. If its older then that, it real expensive.

Can you post a pic of the motor.

I'm having trouble posting pictures, but here's the data from the tag on the motor:
GE ECM model 55ME39HG LX23 S programmable motor

1/2 hp 115V 8A 60hz rpm1100

equip mfrs# C143810P02

Hope this helps. Now that the motor is out of the housing, and the cage is off, the motor seems to be harder to turn. It doesn't spin freely. So it's probably no good? Thanks
HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 06:13 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,725
Default

Trane blower question


VS motor should spin freely. It uses permanent magnets. So it should feel like it has rough bearing when you spin the shaft by hand.

It is more likely that the controller is out.

Trane had a test diagram for that motor. But I don't have a copy of it. You might be able to find a copy floating around on the internet.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 06:34 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Trane blower question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
VS motor should spin freely. It uses permanent magnets. So it should feel like it has rough bearing when you spin the shaft by hand.

It is more likely that the controller is out.

Trane had a test diagram for that motor. But I don't have a copy of it. You might be able to find a copy floating around on the internet.
Thanks for all of your help. From the info that I have been able to find, I've discovered that the parts are expensive. I think I'm much further ahead by just getting a new furnace this year while I can recoop 30% of the cost with an energy tax credit. I haven't been able to find much info on this furnace online, but if you happen across the test diagram, I'd be interested in seeing it. Thanks again for all of your help.

HVAC dummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Trane Filter Cover Question spyder24 HVAC 2 04-04-2010 07:42 AM
Trane XV 90 shuts off burner and exaust blower zootjeff HVAC 0 12-01-2009 11:50 PM
Trane XE80 Heating Question, Please help!!! Stephen1977 HVAC 3 01-30-2007 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.