Tonnage Help - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 08:51 PM   #16
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Default

tonnage help


Was it working fine previously or has it always sucked?

Advertisement

Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:53 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


Its always sucked. I've run out of options other than getting up there and taking a look myself
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:56 PM   #18
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Default

tonnage help


if its always sucked then it could be dirty coil, duct work or low charge.. like turnermech already said,... unfortunately your gonna have to dig a little deeper
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:35 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tonnage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by darkened08 View Post
I'm pretty sure there's some duct work needed. Near thr back of he house where the closet is is fairly cool but in the front of the house its like the air isn't even on. There's at least a four or five degree difference just walking down the hall
if you have no air flow in that area that would be the first thing I would check. Judging by the name plate you posted it is a 1989 unit. Assuming that the entire system is that old duct work could be apart going to that location.

The size of the unit may not be big enough or it may be just right. You must fix any other problems to know. No air flow at part of the home would be first place to start.
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:44 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


Thank you for the help all. How did you come up with an 89 unit? I'll update tomorrow morning with what I find up there. If its too bad I'll get some pictures
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:53 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tonnage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by darkened08 View Post
Thank you for the help all. How did you come up with an 89 unit? I'll update tomorrow morning with what I find up there. If its too bad I'll get some pictures
name plate has MFR Date (manufacture date) 1/89
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:56 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


Can believe I missed that. Lol. I was more looking at the tonnage than the date I suppose but as I said, I'm going to get up there early tomorrow before class and see what I'm dealing with
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 07:36 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,639
Rewards Points: 2,592
Default

tonnage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by darkened08 View Post
Can believe I missed that. Lol. I was more looking at the tonnage than the date I suppose but as I said, I'm going to get up there early tomorrow before class and see what I'm dealing with
system was probley ok at install but because its a rental haven't been taken care of like it should....my guess its plugged with dirt restricting its ability to cool....dirty..coil,condenser..low freon,etc......recommend good cleaning to start with...inside and out....check temps and pressures.. go from there
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 07:15 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


Name:  ForumRunner_20120810_181413.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  24.7 KB



Name:  ForumRunner_20120810_181425.jpg
Views: 38
Size:  24.7 KB

Those are the top of the furnace where they sheet metal conneacr to the coil housing. Massive amount of air pouring out. Used duct tape for a temp fix
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 07:16 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


Name:  ForumRunner_20120810_181538.jpg
Views: 26
Size:  31.6 KB



Name:  ForumRunner_20120810_181554.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  28.7 KB

Some of the rips where insulation is hanging out. Didn't feel any air coming from them so don't think: there too bad just yet
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:27 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tonnage help


duct looks to be leaking for sure, but i don't see enough leakage to acount for no air flow to the front section of your home. Do you not have air flow in the front section of the home? or did i misunderstand previous post?
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:37 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


You didn't misunderstand. There is very little to no air flow in the front of the house I closed up the gaps shown and it helped a little. Not much but enough to cool it down a but
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:56 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

tonnage help


Can you acess all the ductwork from the attic? did you look for any dampers in the ductwork? more to the point the ductwork with no air flow?
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:13 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tonnage help


I did and from the looks of it it hadn't been hanged out since install. The visblr duct didn't seem to have crimps or anything obstructing from the outside. Felt no air blowing out of it. And it moved very little the air kicked on. As I said it has very little air flow. Enough to put your hand an inch or two away and be able to feel it. Just seems underpowered
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:16 PM   #30
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

tonnage help


Not always will the model number state in multiples of 12 the tonnage. Most, not all.

400 or 500 square feet per to is a wives tale. Granted it's a rule of thumb that possibly can steer one in a general direction but never to be used in any scientific heat load calculation by any stretch of the imagination. Envelope is what does it. There's an a/c tech, an aquaintance of beenthere's I believe and close by myself in Dallas, with a 2 ton on a 4000 sq home if memory serves me correctly.

Seal up all leaks in ductwork and perform a static pressure test. Check to see the blower is on high speed. Remove the service panel on to expose the coil. Make sure all internal insulation is intact and not fallen and blocking air. Check the coil while you're in there. Is it filthy? Clean it.

Dampers?

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tonnage help darkened08 General DIY Discussions 3 08-12-2012 01:35 PM
What tonnage / seer / Heat Pump? shank HVAC 3 07-17-2011 11:40 AM
Help Determining Age and Tonnage of AC frankleibo HVAC 8 06-03-2011 08:26 PM
trane tonnage air man HVAC 3 04-13-2011 11:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts