Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 06:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

tonnage help


Hello all, I'm currently going to school for hvac/r its gotten me curious about mine. I want to know the tonnage on my unit to see if that is one of the causes of the massive heat inside the house (other than the hear outside. In Ms. Were lucky to get below 95 )



Name:  ForumRunner_20120809_184525.jpg
Views: 90
Size:  41.7 KB

darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

tonnage help


Looks like a 2 ton

Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Acomfort For This Useful Post:
darkened08 (08-09-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

tonnage help


2 ton, 24,000 btu
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to turnermech For This Useful Post:
darkened08 (08-09-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

tonnage help


Call it a tie
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,293
Default

tonnage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by darkened08 View Post
Hello all, I'm currently going to school for hvac/r its gotten me curious about mine. I want to know the tonnage on my unit to see if that is one of the causes of the massive heat inside the house (other than the hear outside. In Ms. Were lucky to get below 95 )



Attachment 55561
I think it a 2ton 24,000 btu... what size do you need ...have a load calulation been done ... have it been serviced to see if its running right.....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
darkened08 (08-09-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 06:52 PM   #6
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

tonnage help


In the model number there will always be a variation of 12, being 12,000 btus of cooling.. ie: 1.5 ton would be 18, 2 ton 24 and so on
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,293
Default

tonnage help


can't type that fast3 way tie
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:53 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default

tonnage help


Thank you. Got in an argument over it with my landlord. Its a constant 78-80 inside the house. I don't expect it to get down passed even 75 maybe but two or three degrees makes a huge difference. My house is somewhere along the line of 1250 sq. Ft i believe. As I said I'm a student learning it and I was told it should be roughly a ton per 400 sq. Ft
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:54 PM   #9
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

tonnage help


I'm in canada, so we don't need quite that much, but I think in the states there you guys are roughly 500 per ton
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

tonnage help


square footage to tons is realy just a EWAG better than a WAG but not that much. But it is 500 to 600 sq ft per ton around here.
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:33 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default

tonnage help


So is what I have the right size? Maybe half a ton bigger but thatd be a lot of money for a little change.
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:36 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

tonnage help


the first thing would be to see if the unit is operating corectly. refrigerant charge, duct work leak, dirty condenser coil ect..
turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:39 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default

tonnage help


I'm pretty sure there's some duct work needed. Near thr back of he house where the closet is is fairly cool but in the front of the house its like the air isn't even on. There's at least a four or five degree difference just walking down the hall
darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:42 PM   #14
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

tonnage help


simplest fix is to check your filter
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:48 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default

tonnage help


We've just changed it maybe a week or two ago in hopes that fix it.

darkened08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tonnage help darkened08 General DIY Discussions 3 08-12-2012 12:35 PM
What tonnage / seer / Heat Pump? shank HVAC 3 07-17-2011 10:40 AM
Help Determining Age and Tonnage of AC frankleibo HVAC 8 06-03-2011 07:26 PM
trane tonnage air man HVAC 3 04-13-2011 10:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.