Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2010, 04:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Hey Everyone! Thanks for these great forums. I'm a newbie, but the advice on here so far is much appreciated.

I'm Installing a new furnace. As it turns out, space is rather tight. I'd like to keep the electrical switch where it is, but it butts right up against the gas line.

Does anyone see a problem with this layout? I'm thinking it's probably okay, but I thought I'd put the feelers out for some more advice.

Thanks!!

ahowenstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 04:16 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Here's a pic of what I'm talking about:



Here's the URL: http://www.flickr.com/photos/orionm42/4972282810/



ahowenstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 04:18 PM   #3
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


The toggle switch itself is against the gas line, or is it the switch box that is against the gas line?

As long as there is no interference with the operation of the switch and there is access to the switch it isn't a problem.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 04:22 PM   #4
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Ok, after seeing the picture I would either move the box or the gas line. There is just not good access to that switch. Also, I see the cover plate is not on...that's a no-no too. You might want to take out those 1/4" hex head screws and use cover plate screws if the box isn't already stripped out.

What kind of gas pipe is that?
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 04:23 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,275
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Our gas inspectors would not allow that. Quality of workmanship clause. Not sure the electrical inspectors would either.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 04:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


As stated that's not good enough. Can't be anything blocking the normal access of the electrical box and that romex need to be in conduit, flex conduit is fine.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 05:13 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,813
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Wouldn't pass inspection here.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 05:31 PM   #8
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Wouldn't pass inspection here.

Wouldn't pass inspection here either...
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:05 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thoughts on furnace switch location


Hi all;

I'm going to work on moving this switch, and replacing the wiring, too.

I'll take a pic when it's complete! Thanks!

ahowenstine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, furnace, gas lines


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
basic switch from 4-wire? benepperson Electrical 6 08-17-2010 12:41 PM
No emergency cut off switch on my furnace Red Squirrel HVAC 8 10-13-2009 07:09 PM
furnace pressure switch Mike T. HVAC 3 10-10-2009 01:26 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
HEIL furnace keeps kicking off reset switch sunsetacres1318 HVAC 8 11-04-2008 08:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.