Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 12:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thinking about Installing 2 Furnaces onstead of 1


Hi guys.
I have a 2200 sq" home and I need to install a new furnace.
I am on a tight budget and apparently i need a 120,000BTU
I dont have a lot of cash and i am finding it hard to find a used 120,000BTU furnace, So I was thinking of buying 2 smaller 70,000BTU or something used furnaces and installing ductwork for upstairs and downstairs separately and having them on seperate thermostats

Would this work? I thought it would be beneficial from a money point of view that if the family is downstairs in the day time we could just run 1 furnace for the ground floor and turn the second one on at night to warm the upstairs before we go to bed,....
would it work?

50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 12:32 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,809
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Thinking about Installing 2 Furnaces onstead of 1


Sounds good to me.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 12:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Thinking about Installing 2 Furnaces onstead of 1


See what you can do with some insulation and caulking first. That's a LOT of BTU's for 2200 square feet. Our house is half that and 30K is more then enough down to -20F. Bet you can get by with a 75-90K unit or a pair of 45's.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 01:33 PM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thinking about Installing 2 Furnaces onstead of 1


Not sure what you are heating, but have to agree with Marty, you really need to do a heat loss calculation to know what you are looking at.

There is plenty of info you there to do it, in fact I believ for a small fee, you can download a "Manual J" program, for home use, to figure out exactly what is needed.

And when you do (2) systems you will end up with 2 x the duct work, how's that going to be cheaper?

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 04:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thinking about Installing 2 Furnaces onstead of 1


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
Not sure what you are heating, but have to agree with Marty, you really need to do a heat loss calculation to know what you are looking at.

There is plenty of info you there to do it, in fact I believ for a small fee, you can download a "Manual J" program, for home use, to figure out exactly what is needed.

And when you do (2) systems you will end up with 2 x the duct work, how's that going to be cheaper?

Mark
Hi thanks for the replies.
Agh i see your point Jack. Actually the ground floor duct work is allready installed with the ductwork running across the basement and venting through the floors , but the upstairs is not installed yet and has no ductwork so i need to buy that run of ducting no matter what.
The heater is missing, so i need to buy a new one anyway. (or 2 )
And the thing is, the house has beautiful hard wood antique floors that I dont want to cut through to install the new vents for the ductwork on the upstairs. ..So i was thinking of installing the ducting through the roof space and venting in the heated air through the ceilings or above the door jams in the upstairs rooms... if it would be effective. So i have to install that run anyway, no matter what...if you get my drift..
i'm going to insulate the roof space to take it up to R49 value. The house is in the mid west.
If i was to do it, do you think 2X 50's or 60's would do it with 90% efficiency?
or do you think i should just go for the one big heater that runs flat out all the time heating the whole house?

thanks again guys for all your input

Last edited by 50cool50; 04-09-2011 at 04:06 PM.
50cool50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 05:00 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

Thinking about Installing 2 Furnaces onstead of 1


2200 sq ft? I doubt you need a 120,000 BTU furnace, or 2-60,000 BTU furnaces. Probably a single 60,000 BTU furnace.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, heating, installation


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thinking of installing Bathroom Heat lamp in basement Juliediy Electrical 3 04-06-2011 01:03 PM
thinking of installing a raised patio instead of a deck EPERRINGTON Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 03-09-2011 12:44 PM
Installing a suspended in a room that has an angled wall... markronz Remodeling 10 02-20-2010 10:03 AM
Installing saddle valve on hot water pipe Dbizot Plumbing 6 01-14-2010 12:11 PM
Payne Furnaces mick6311 HVAC 1 06-26-2007 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.