Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2010, 12:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Thermostatic duct adjustment


I have a server cooling dilemma. The 3 ton rooftop HVAC that cools the server room also cools 2 other rooms. The server room needs more or less cooling depending on load and season. The 2 other rooms end up freezing when the servers are working hard but are fine when the servers are at idle. If the vents are shut to the non-server rooms they get too hot.

Question: Is there a thermostatically controlled vent or duct that can pinch off flow to the non-server rooms when they reach a comfortable temp? I figured 2 adjustable vents and 2 more thermostats to adjust them. Please understand, I realize balancing these systems is an art and that what I'm suggesting is using a sledge hammer to fix it.

carbunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:25 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


You can installing a zoning panel and dampers to do what you want(along with a barometric bypass damper).

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
carbunkle (04-12-2010)
Old 04-12-2010, 01:55 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


they have motorized registers that would replace the exsisting on the non-server room 24V and stat and your controlling the space.the dampers are not air dependent and basically would be moving/modulating even if the unit is off..then close when the statis satisfied....will hunt them and get back....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
carbunkle (04-12-2010)
Old 04-12-2010, 02:07 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


options are to replace the register or cut into the duct as shown ...home theater is typical off the main unit as shown to control the area. http://www.cinemabuilder.com/products/HVAC/hvac.asp
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
carbunkle (04-12-2010)
Old 04-12-2010, 02:13 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

Thermostatic duct adjustment


After posting, of course, I searched using the right terminology "damper". This, as you know, got the hits I was looking for. The Honeywell system seems to be well sorted out (and a little pricey). Thanks for all your replies. Glad to be part of a forum with active members.
carbunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 02:21 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,776
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


Make sure you get a reputable professional to do your work. The drawbacks are that when the non server dampers close the velocity and noise of the air in the server room will increase. This can also overload the fan and cause potential freezeup of the A/C coil and overheat the furnace part if it has one. You need to make sure or the Pro does that there are no freezeup problems when reducing the airflow and even barometric damper setups are not perfect. The ideal setup is separate units for the 2 different areas. Minisplit units are popular for server rooms:Fujitsu Ductless Mini-Splits: Wall Mounted Systems
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 04-12-2010 at 02:24 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 07:05 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
they have motorized registers that would replace the exsisting on the non-server room 24V and stat and your controlling the space.the dampers are not air dependent and basically would be moving/modulating even if the unit is off..then close when the statis satisfied....will hunt them and get back....
Only problem with that method. Is that if both of the non server rooms have their dampers closed. Then the air flow will be too low. Probably freeze up the evap coil. End up with the server room over heating. And flood back the compressor and probably damage it.

Zoning systems. While more expensive. Have safeties to protect the HVAC equipment.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 11:18 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Only problem with that method. Is that if both of the non server rooms have their dampers closed. Then the air flow will be too low. Probably freeze up the evap coil. End up with the server room over heating. And flood back the compressor and probably damage it.

Zoning systems. While more expensive. Have safeties to protect the HVAC equipment.
The server room has 2-12" ducts going from the main distribution manifold, or whatever it's called, to the room. The HVAC is shooting to 2 rooms. I only need to close one of the 3 - 12" ducts. There are no restrictors or dampers on the server rooms registers, just diffusers. The reason I'm in the DIY section is because we can't afford a pro right now. We have to squeak by on our wits. We are pro's at what we do and hate when people try to do our jobs too, so I understand but we have no choice right now. I'll take all of your warnings seriously. Thank you very much for your time.
carbunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:14 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


I'm not telling you this needs to be done ny a pro.

I'm telling you how to do it right so that you don't end up with a dead compressor. And servers that shut them selves off. And end up closing down your operation.

Do you know how many tons your A/C is.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostatic duct adjustment


Carbunkle?
http://www.google.com/search?client=...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duct work in garage. flashme18 HVAC 1 11-08-2009 07:29 PM
Return duct "boot or no boot" ads67 HVAC 16 01-10-2009 10:38 AM
Furnace install in attic - Duct configuration hartkem HVAC 6 11-08-2008 06:46 PM
Flex Duct Advice ssporty21228 HVAC 4 07-23-2008 09:28 PM
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.