Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2009, 04:24 PM   #1
sob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

Thermostat wiring question


I'm trying to install programmable thermostats for my baseboard electric heaters. The new thermostat only has 2 wires, whereas the old ones have 4. I plan to wire up the new one by simply combining the 2 reds and the 2 blacks off of the old thermostat into the new one.

That is;
1. Cut all 4 wires off the old thermostat
2. Combine the 2 red and attach to wire 1 on the new thermostat
3. Combine the 2 black and attach to wire 2 on the new thermostat.

Is this the right approach?
Thanks,
-Shannon.
Attached Thumbnails
Thermostat wiring question-wiring.jpg  

sob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 05:32 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,858
Default

Thermostat wiring question


NEC requires line voltage thermostats to be a double pole.
Apparently your new ones are not double pole. So they do not meet code.
Your home owners insurance may not cover you, if you use these thermostats.
may want to contact them before installing those stats.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
sob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Thermostat wiring question


I'm in Canada and I'm pretty sure single pole is allowed.

But w.r.t. wiring, I'm not sure how to proceed. If I do what I described in my first post (combine the reds and the blacks on the old thermostat) I will be mixing reds and blacks coming out of the wall.

Or, should I make my two connections by combining all the reds out of the wall and all the blacks out of the wall and connecting the new thermostat to them?

If you can't tell from the picture;
There are 2 wires coming into the box (containing a red/black each) and 1 wire on the bottom left (containing red/black too).
sob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:11 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,858
Default

Thermostat wiring question


Your current stat is a 2 pole.
They cost slightly more then single pole ones.
Most contractors don't install a more expensive thermostat then they have to for electric baseboard.

I think you may be in error on your code allowing single pole.
Canada has stricter codes the USA.

Post pics of your new stat
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:25 PM   #5
sob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Thermostat wiring question


This is the new unit.

http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/brows...Thermostat.jsp

There are 2 black wire sticking out if the back...

The reason I want to install this is because I have 14 thermostats in the house and would like to program them to save some energy.

-Shannon.
sob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:51 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,858
Default

Thermostat wiring question


I understand why you want to use a programable thermostat.

I see its half off. Probably because its not an approved thermostat.


PS: That site has wiring instructions for your set up.
I won't give instructions for things i believe are against code.

Read some of those reviews. people have had trouble getting the thermostat to turn the heat off.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:30 PM   #7
sob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Thermostat wiring question


It's CSA approved.

They are rated for 3000W@240 or 1500W@120
Attached Thumbnails
Thermostat wiring question-stat.jpg  
sob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 01:55 PM   #8
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 259
Default

Thermostat wiring question


I see 4 wires coming from the thermostat and what looks like 6 wires coming out of the box. I also see red wires connected to black wires and vice versa. Looks like some strange wiring I'd want a pro to sort out.

Last edited by sktn77a; 10-20-2009 at 01:58 PM.
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:01 PM   #9
sob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Talking

Thermostat wiring question


I had friend (who is an electrician) come and look at it and this is how you do it.

- Remove the old thermostat
- Tie all the reds together. This connects the source power to the thermostat and the exiting wire. With the 3 black wires remaining;
- Two are already paired. These two complete the connections for the source power and the exiting line. Leave them together.
- Place the thermostat between the paired black and the single black.
- When the thermostat is on, it closes the connection and power runs through the heater.

Also, my friend told me he doesn't see many double pole thermostats being installed these days. It's mostly all single pole.

Last edited by sob; 10-20-2009 at 09:04 PM.
sob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:52 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,858
Default

Thermostat wiring question


I don't see many furnaces or boilers being sized properly these days either.
So does that make it right.


Tell us about it, when your room is 90 because those contacts burnt closed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:02 AM   #11
sob
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Thermostat wiring question


Yeah sure, I'll do that...

You know... Canada is a whole different country, we sometimes do things differently.

Thanks for all you *help*.
sob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 10:31 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,858
Default

Thermostat wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by sob View Post
Yeah sure, I'll do that...

You know... Canada is a whole different country, we sometimes do things differently.

Thanks for all you *help*.
You know. Electric works the same, in Canada, as it does in the USA.

Your *welcome*.



PS: Those same wiring instructions are on the site you posted a link to.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thermostat wiring sourmash HVAC 1 07-18-2009 10:17 PM
Thermostat wiring question beer_geek HVAC 7 05-10-2009 06:49 PM
Wiring a Noma Programable Thermostat 111jag General DIY Discussions 1 10-14-2007 10:13 PM
Thermostat Wiring Problem crazy woman HVAC 2 08-15-2006 09:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.