Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 09:21 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Share |
Default

Thermostat wiring question


My HVAC installer is no longer available (long story)

Anyway, I had him rough in a dampered system for the basement that's tied into the first floor Rheem Criterion unit. This way, I'd only have that area serviced when needed. He installed a Honeywell HZ-311 zone controller. He handed me a White-Rodgers 1F78H-144 thermostat to be installed after the drywall went up.

Here's my issue. There are 5 wires attached to the Honeywell(R, C, W, Y, G). The thermostat has W, RH, B, RC, G, O, and Y connectors with RH and RC jumpered.

I'm trying to figure out the wiring. Most of the connections are obvious. I'm wondering about the (C) wire and the jumper wire. Do I connect the (C) to (RC) and remove the jumper or do I not connect it and leave the jumper in place?

The Honeywell manual says to wire per the thermostat instructions.

http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...69-2069EFS.pdf

http://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/.../0037-6615.pdf

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 05:47 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Thermostat wiring question


WR figure #4 the Honeywell called for a direct 24Vs to power the stat R-C,on the WR the C(other side of the TR) is G,Y,W when called for don't need dedicated 24v to run that WR stat.on that jumper always leave it in Rc-Rh for single TR systems.removing it.....if you had oil heat TR on the burner,or 2nd TR out in the condenser for the cooling side.your single TR in the furnace needs the jumper so the 24Vs is flipped over to the cooling or heating side during the seasons....stat can't do AUTO system setting without it.hope this helps i am saying this with the mind set your using the WR replacing the Honeywell to run the HVAC system and control the dampers!

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

Thermostat wiring question


So, in other words, the C on the Honeywell does not need to be connected to the WR Thermostat. Is that correct?
__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 08:19 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Thermostat wiring question


the #4 schematic doesn't show any C which is the common side of the TR are you replacing the Honeywell with the WR?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:39 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Thermostat wiring question


He's installing a thermostat for that zone.
Its a new zone system. So it never had a thermostat before.

Thats what I take from his original post.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

Thermostat wiring question


Beenthere,
Exactly. As stated, a damper system was installed to service the first floor and basement by the Rheem. The Honeywell is the controlling mechanism that the thermostats connect to. I'm trying to hook up the aforementioned thermostat to the honeywell to control the basement zone.
__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:11 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,033
Default

Thermostat wiring question


Zone Panel------WR Thermostat
---R---------------RC (leave factory jumper to RH)
---W--------------W
---Y---------------Y
---G---------------G

Disconnect the wire from the C terminal at the zone panel and wirenut it off to prevent short circuiting.

That thermostat is battery operated and does not require a Common to work.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Default

Thermostat wiring question


Thanks for the verification.

__________________
It takes less time to do a thing right than it does to explain why you did it wrong.
-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low voltage thermostat wiring dirtpig538 General DIY Discussions 2 02-14-2009 12:48 PM
Thermostat and TrueIAQ wiring. mjbxx HVAC 1 01-21-2009 10:35 PM
Wiring new Thermostat to new furnace hartkem HVAC 7 11-11-2008 07:09 PM
Thermostat Wiring Problem crazy woman HVAC 2 08-15-2006 09:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.