Thermostat Wiring O/B & W Together? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 01:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


I just want to make sure I wired this right. I have forced heat and air, with a heat pump (ac unit outside). My heat works and ac works, both get hot and cold. Fan works, so far I'm not having any issues.

My old Thermostat was a Hunter model# 44550 and has the following connections.

W
RH - Has a bracket connecting to the RC
RC - Has a Bracket connecting to the RH
G
Y/Y1
O/B

I bought a Honeywell FocusPro 6000 TH6110D1005 from Amazon because the service man that was out here told me it's the one he uses on every home when he replaces a thermostat.

The new thermostat connections are as follows..

G
W ("O/B" below that says "For heat pump see instructions")
C
Y
R
RC

I have coming out of the wall..

Green Wire labeled G
White Wire labeled W
Yellow Wire labeled Y/Y1
Blue Wire labeled O/B
Red Wire labeled RH

So after reading the instructions and looking online I did the following,

G = Green Wire labeled G
W ("O/B" below that says "For heat pump see instructions") = White Wire labeled W & Blue Wire labeled O/B (both are in the same slot together)
C = left empty, no wire
Y = Yellow Wire labeled Y/Y1
R = Red Wire labeled RH - kept bracket
RC = Red Wire labeled RH - kept bracket

So is this correct? If not what should I fix or do to make it right?

This is the only thermostat in the house.

Thank you,
Matt

Advertisement

mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:32 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,366
Rewards Points: 1,096
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


NO, not correct. That thermostat will not operate a heat pump with backup (aux) heat. You need a TH6220. On the 6220 there will be outputs for aux and E these get jumpered and the W wire goes to them.

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:41 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,443
Rewards Points: 4,532
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
NO, not correct. That thermostat will not operate a heat pump with backup (aux) heat. You need a TH6220. On the 6220 there will be outputs for aux and E these get jumpered and the W wire goes to them.
Wish when they marked those boxes heat pump compatible. They would put with no aux heat in big letters.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (10-21-2012)
Old 10-21-2012, 10:59 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
NO, not correct. That thermostat will not operate a heat pump with backup (aux) heat. You need a TH6220. On the 6220 there will be outputs for aux and E these get jumpered and the W wire goes to them.
So to just make sure I found the following on the web.

"
WHAT IS AUXILIARY HEAT:
Auxiliary heat is the technical term for "heat strips". Most heat pumps have heat strips inside the air handler to compensate for the cold air produced when the heat pump goes into the "defrost cycle". During the defrost cycle, the heat pump reverses. It circulates cold refrigerant through the inside coil and hot refrigerant through the outside coil to melt the ice off the outside coil. During this time, without heat strips, cold air would be blown into the home. The heat strips also sometimes referred to as "backup heat", supplement the heat produced by the heat pump to assist during extreme cold weather.
"

So by using the TH6110D, when it gets cold and needs to do the above action... it wont be able to causing my heat pump problems. Correct?

So I looked up the TH6220, it's not much more so I'll order it today and see if I can return the one I have.

Once I get the new one the O/B wire will have it's own slot and the W wire will go in either AUX or E with a bracket (jumper) connecting them and it should work just fine then?

Thank you again for all your help!
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 11:36 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Ok just ordered from Amazon, (Honeywell TH6220 FocusPro 6000 5-1-1 Programmable Heat Pump Thermostat) so this should be the correct one, $64.98 not too bad.


I looked up the manual online for it and it should have the following connections.


2H/1C Heat Pump System
(TH6220D only) [8]
Rc Power
R [R+Rc joined by jumper]
Y Compressor contactor
C 24VAC common
O/B Changeover valve
G Fan relay
Aux Auxiliary heat relay
E Emergency heat relay
L Sends output when set to Em. Heat

So I'll jumper these and should be good to go correct?

Aux Auxiliary heat relay
E Emergency heat relay
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 12:30 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,366
Rewards Points: 1,096
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


white goes to aux and it is jumpered to E, yes, you are correct.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
mwpaulson (10-21-2012)
Old 10-21-2012, 01:26 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
white goes to aux and it is jumpered to E, yes, you are correct.
Thanks for all your help!

Last question, it's not that cold yet here in WA State, has been raining, I have the TH6110D (wrong thermostat) hooked up and it's holding at 70F and working just fine, I should be ok till the new one arrives in a few days correct? Should I do anything with the wires in the meantime or leave it alone?
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


I found a pic of the backplate.

The top says "Conventional" and bottem says "Heat Pump"

So do I have to put the wires in the slots for heat pump or can I put it through the top and tighten the screws. Does this even matter?

Sorry I am new and just want to make sure.

Thank you,
Matt
Attached Thumbnails
Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?-backplate.jpg  
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:28 PM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,366
Rewards Points: 1,096
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Remove the white wire and tape off for now. The wires still insert from the top. You simply use the terminal HP labels.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
mwpaulson (10-21-2012)
Old 10-21-2012, 05:33 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
Remove the white wire and tape off for now. The wires still insert from the top. You simply use the terminal HP labels.
Thank you again for all your help!
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 11:44 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Quick Question, got the new stat installed.

In the setup on #1 I picked option 5 "2 heat/1cool heat pump (with aux. heat)

On #2 I picked 1 "Changeover Valve (O/B terminal energized in heating) Because everything I read online says Rheem/Rudd is set this way and I have a Rheem heat pump and gas furance system.

everything else I left alone seemed like correct settings.

Is this correct? I kinda just went with the bold because it all made sense.

Also someone explain how the heat pump outside can heat the house? I'm new so I thought that unit outside was only for A/C.

Thank you,
Matt

Last edited by mwpaulson; 10-30-2012 at 12:15 AM. Reason: updated info
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 02:41 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


for a ruud unit, you will want the reversing valve to energize in the heating mode.
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:08 PM   #13
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Heat extraction from inside a dwelling during cooling mode let's go of that heat outside. Put your hand above the outside fan and you'll notice it's warm air. In a heat pump the refrigerant simply reverses it's flow (why you have the o/b terminal which connects to the reversing valve) and the process is reversed. The refrigerant is letting go of it's heat inside the dwelling.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:15 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: WA State
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Heat extraction from inside a dwelling during cooling mode let's go of that heat outside. Put your hand above the outside fan and you'll notice it's warm air. In a heat pump the refrigerant simply reverses it's flow (why you have the o/b terminal which connects to the reversing valve) and the process is reversed. The refrigerant is letting go of it's heat inside the dwelling.
Ohh ok, now I understand it much better. I can use the heat pump for just A/C though right and not heating if I choose not to correct?

I reconnected the TH6110 because I like the Gas heat much better, the heat pump was only blowing in luke warm air when I tested it for a few days. Gas had better heat and keeps the home warmer. The A/C though is perfect and keeps the house very cold.

Last edited by mwpaulson; 11-01-2012 at 11:19 PM.
mwpaulson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:28 PM   #15
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Thermostat Wiring O/B & W together?


Yes, in cooling mode it's a normal condensing unit outside. During heating mode on a heat pump the two coils switch rolls, the outside becomes the evaporator and the inside becomes the condensing unit. During the refrigerants condensing process it's losing heat.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thermostat wiring rejames HVAC 11 05-02-2012 09:07 PM
2 zone damper 2 thermostat wiring help kostia HVAC 10 08-22-2010 10:57 AM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-10-2010 12:58 AM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 07:11 AM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 08:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts