Thermostat Wiring - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2011, 05:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring


I have a White Rodgers Type 1F57W-314 tstat that I need to wire to my furnace/ac unit. The Tstat has the following terminals on it, Y1, Y2, R, G, W1 & W2. The furnace has the following terminals on it, C, G, R, Y, W1 & W2. The W1 & W2 terminals in the furnace/ac unit were jumpered together, I don't think they need to be? Can anyone tell me how to connect the Tstat to the furnace/ac unit?

Thanks

Advertisement

Blacktitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 07:54 AM   #2
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,089
Rewards Points: 590
Default

Thermostat Wiring


It sounds like you have a 2 stage heat furnace that was set up to run with a single stage tstat. Did you old stat have just a single W and not a W1 and W2? It would help if you could post your furnace make/model. But assuming it is a 2 stage unit you would pull the W1/W2 jumper, then connect the wires on stat to furnace: Y1 to Y, W1 to W1, W2 to W2, G to G, R to R.

Or if you didn't want to run it as a 2-stage (can't imagine why you would not use the feature if you have it) you could leave the W1/W2 jumper in place and just connect W1 from the stat to the jumpered W1/W2 on the furnace.

The new stat has no C terminal so I assume that it runs off batteries.... or is not programmable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacktitan View Post
I have a White Rodgers Type 1F57W-314 tstat that I need to wire to my furnace/ac unit. The Tstat has the following terminals on it, Y1, Y2, R, G, W1 & W2. The furnace has the following terminals on it, C, G, R, Y, W1 & W2. The W1 & W2 terminals in the furnace/ac unit were jumpered together, I don't think they need to be? Can anyone tell me how to connect the Tstat to the furnace/ac unit?

Thanks

Advertisement


Last edited by raylo32; 10-16-2011 at 07:58 AM.
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 07:54 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Thermostat Wiring


Terminal to terminal. If your A/C isn't 2 stage, then Y1 of the thermostat should go to Y2/Y. May also need to reset your furn ace control board to use a 2 stage heat thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 08:21 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat Wiring


the new stat is working on a back feed not needing the C for a constant 24V at the subbase if you shut the emergency switch on the furnace you'll see batt ID come up.if the manual doesn't show a C or the base your good.many a home owner runs out gets the latest stat with a ton of digital and then they see a C call and wonder where it is from the furnace with the older one not needing it
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 09:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring


Thanks guys for the info. The Tstat is not a programable model, nor is it battery powered. I tried looking for a manual on line, and discovered it is obsolete, so any info would be greatly appreciated.
From what I have read from you guys, it looks like I only require 5 wires? What about Y2 on the Tstat?

Thanks again
Blacktitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 10:02 AM   #6
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,089
Rewards Points: 590
Default

Thermostat Wiring


Y2 would be for 2-stage air conditioning condenser which the furnace board doesn't support (since it lacks a Y2 terminal) and which you surely don't have. So you don't need to connect anything to that terminal on the stat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacktitan View Post
Thanks guys for the info. The Tstat is not a programable model, nor is it battery powered. I tried looking for a manual on line, and discovered it is obsolete, so any info would be greatly appreciated.
From what I have read from you guys, it looks like I only require 5 wires? What about Y2 on the Tstat?

Thanks again
raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 10:25 AM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat Wiring


that is a mechanical stat! Go buy a digital! Also post the make and model of your furnace.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 10-16-2011 at 10:28 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 12:21 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Wiring


Thanks guys,

The furnace is a Bard wall mount model #WE701-F14EPXXXJ. I have hooked it as as advised and everything seems to work even though I have not connected the "C" terminal. I agree that this is a lousy mechanical Tstat, but due to my location in the middle of Siberia, I can't run down to Home Depot and by an electronic model. LOL. Thanks for all your help!! I greatly appreciate it!

Advertisement

Blacktitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hvac installation , thermostat help


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 zone damper 2 thermostat wiring help kostia HVAC 10 08-22-2010 10:57 AM
Thermostat wiring dimbulb HVAC 16 08-20-2010 12:49 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-10-2010 12:58 AM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 07:11 AM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 08:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts