Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2009, 01:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Wire Question


Greetings,
I would like to rewire my thermostat, and relocate my Humidstat to the house, instead of the basement. This would require 6 conductors.
My question is, can I use 18/6 Stranded as opposed to Solid? I have several rolls of stranded from my alarm days, and cannot see buying new wire if not needed. The total run is only about 30ft. Currently there is 20/4 running to the thermostat. Both the thermostat and furnace contol board have compression type screw terminals, not the kind you wrap the wire around.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 01:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat Wire Question


IMHO
yes on the stranded, yes on the gauge, yes on the distance.
For the connectors you may want to tin the wire ends but be careful the solder doesn't wick up into the insulation.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 01:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Wire Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
be careful the solder doesn't wick up into the insulation.
Thanks for the quick reply. I was going to tin anyway, but wondering why the caution about wicking? I have never heard of that warning before.

TJ
TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 01:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermostat Wire Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ_in_IL View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. I was going to tin anyway, but wondering why the caution about wicking? I have never heard of that warning before.

TJ
If the wire is flexed, where the wicking stops there will be a sharp bend radius leading to breakage at that point.
All stranded or all solid wire gives a uniform large or small bend radius when flexed.
In this application it may not matter.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 01:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Wire Question


Fair enough. Thanks again.
TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 06:57 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,785
Rewards Points: 2,708
Default

Thermostat Wire Question


Use #18 stakon crimp connectors with eyelet ends on the board for a neat job. Not sure about the tstat.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical wire size question. shawnlee Electrical 11 08-11-2009 07:25 PM
wire running question ponch37300 Electrical 4 04-21-2009 04:58 PM
Thermostat wiring advice tsugacanadensis HVAC 2 11-04-2008 08:04 AM
Thermostat Question Dekuyper Electrical 4 06-26-2008 08:49 AM
Thermostat question MsApril HVAC 1 02-09-2008 07:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.