Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2010, 07:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


I'm new here..sorry if I posted in the wrong place.

I moved my thermostat to heat yesterday and as soon as I did my thermostat went out and the A/C and heat do not work.

Breaker wasn't tripped and the switch on the furnace was on.

I went out and bought a new thermostat and it's still not working.

Please help... with any possible suggestions

mommeetiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 01:20 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


If your unit has a circuit board with fuse. check for blown fuse


Last edited by kenmac; 11-01-2010 at 01:24 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


There was a blown 5 Amp fuse inside the furnace and the board. Changed the fuse and it blew again as soon as I moved the thermostat to heat. Changed fuse and tried again still the same thing. Any suggestions on what I can do next?
mommeetiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:17 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


Look for a short somewhere in the low voltage wires
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:23 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


Carefully take the faceplate off of the thermostat and look for unshielded wires touching. I would do the same thing inside of the furnace. Can you think of any holes you nailed or drilled into the wall near your thermostat? I have actually seen that short out low voltage wire.
berend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 06:15 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


that the fuse is blowing out narrows it down to the furnace heat controls or the actual wire run up to the stat for heat...doubt that.remove the board and inspect the back for burnt marks..try refuse it with it not mounted slide piece of cardboard to support it..then call for heat again..the only other loads that are in that 5 amp fuse draw are the ignitor and gas valve..might need a tech visit...but try the unmonted board with new fuse and heat call
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 09:21 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thermostat went out no A/C or heat


Thank y'all for your help. I decided to leave it to a professional. The tech said it was a short. He fixed it and we have heat now. It was $100 out of pocket but I would've probably screwed things up more and ended up paying more if I kept messin around. Just wanted to let y'all know I appreciated the replies.

mommeetiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a two wire heat thermostat to a four wire cibao67 Electrical 2 03-01-2010 08:42 AM
An efficient programmable thermostat for a heat pump? mow2000 HVAC 17 01-16-2010 08:09 PM
Heat & fan work when wired but not with thermostat. twocities HVAC 1 10-20-2009 09:41 PM
programmable thermostat + heat pump Potomac101 HVAC 10 12-03-2008 10:02 AM
Heat kicks on without thermostat bgd73 HVAC 1 05-23-2008 08:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.