Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2008, 10:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


I have a Honeywell thermostat, which once in awhile refuses to work on "auto."

I remember reading somewhere (maybe here) about the thermostat unit having to be perfectly "square." It has a fair amount of play on end. I have tried adjusting it various times, but so far it hasn't fixed itself. In the past, it has usually come around, but I don't know what I did.

Any help?

Thanks!

eyeblazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 12:44 AM   #2
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


It only has to be perfectly level if it is a mercury stat, If you have one of those digital hunter stats I would replace it.

HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 01:01 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


Thanks for the info. Really appreciate the advice. It is one of the digital things. Did you mean to replace with a mercury sensitive thermostat or just "time" to replace it with the same thing?
eyeblazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeblazy View Post
Thanks for the info. Really appreciate the advice. It is one of the digital things. Did you mean to replace with a mercury sensitive thermostat or just "time" to replace it with the same thing?
Time to replace with the same tstat or get a tstat with more capability. Can't imagine why you'd want to return to mercury.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:45 PM   #5
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


Quote:
Originally Posted by dac122 View Post
Time to replace with the same tstat or get a tstat with more capability. Can't imagine why you'd want to return to mercury.

What dac said
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


Try contact cleaner, if you can find someone who still makes it. 24vac at low current may not really wipe the contacts clean (with arcing) like higher voltages and currents. So, any thin layer of oxide or tarnish will make the switch flaky.

Isopropyl alcohol may also work, but with a contact cleaner spray you don't have to dissassemble the unit.
We used to use carbon tetrachloride but that is banned, probably cause it smelled so good.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 11-06-2008 at 06:10 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 07:07 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

Thermostat sometimes doesn't work on "auto"


Thanks to my you, my advisers. I appreciate your input.

I fixed the thermostat the old-fashioned way. I banged on the side of the case, and voila! I have fixed many things using this tried-and-true method, but forgot about using it for the thermostat.

I will clean the contacts, as suggested, and shop for a new one at leisure.

Thanks again!

eyeblazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat VS Ceiling fan MrShadetree0222 HVAC 38 01-23-2010 03:29 AM
Newly installed Thermostat doesn't power on falcon753 HVAC 17 10-28-2008 08:53 AM
High Rise Condo Thermostat Change omanalansan HVAC 8 10-24-2008 02:57 PM
Thermostat reading incorrectly - cooling only CindyWOOOHOOO HVAC 5 06-27-2008 08:51 PM
DIYers and Professionals Can Work Together. WilbUild Building & Construction 5 04-08-2007 01:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.