Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 06:00 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


LOL... making it simple is not Honeywell's style when it comes to thermostat instructions.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 06:09 PM   #17
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


└cually its not Honeywell that is at fault. Remember you have a thermostat that was designed for pro use only. A pro should know those things and know how to set the thermostat up correctly. The thermostat was not designed for DIY install.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 04-17-2012 at 08:14 PM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 06:13 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
The thermostat was designed for DIY install.
I think you meant to say "This thermostat was NOT designed for DIY install". I agree, and the people who installed my system should have known better.
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 11:24 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


No problem hijacking the thread, this is all GREAT info!

A few questions for you guys who have the IAQ Prestige

I'm looking at the various kits available, all coming with various accessories. the one i'm looking at these 2 kits

YTHX9421R5069:
which includes the Thermostat, Wireless outdoor temp sensor, Equipment interface module and 2 duct sensors.

I also see this YTHX9321R5079:
Includes thermostat, Wireless outdoor temp sensor (not EIM or Duct sensors)

my question is, do I need the EIM and or the Duct sensors? I Think the EIM is needed for a duel fuel setup like I'll have (gas furnace and heatpump/AC) but im just checking my work :-)

Also, people were talking about the coil, I have a pro who is installing this so he'll probably know the answer to this, but the furnace I got is a Goodman GMVC950915DX (downflow) and a CAPF4961D6 Coil. where is the coil installed? someone mentioned in an earlier post about the coil being installed on the hot side when it shouldn't be. where should it be installed?
drnick5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:24 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


Ok, so I made the following changes.

-I connected up Aux and E to the furnace (using jumper).
-I changed the thermostat 210 setting to "0": "Thermostat controls backup heat"
-I put a 18 kOhm resistor between the two outdoor temperature probe terminals and it is correctly showing 10C outside (50F). I did this since I don't have a temperature sensor and I did just in case.

When I test out the system though, if I set the heat to 22C and the current temperature is 21C, the heat pump goes on for about 30 seconds and the thermostat says "Heat On" (as opposed to Aux On). Then, with the heat pump off and the thermostat says "Heat On" and the furnace fan is running. Then a few minutes later, the heat pump went on again! Then it went off again after about 30 seconds or a minute.

Maybe the thermostat is playing with the heat pump and seeing if it can cause a temperature increase before it decides to give up and use Aux heat?
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:52 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djgrant View Post
Ok, so I made the following changes.

-I connected up Aux and E to the furnace (using jumper).
-I changed the thermostat 210 setting to "0": "Thermostat controls backup heat"
-I put a 18 kOhm resistor between the two outdoor temperature probe terminals and it is correctly showing 10C outside (50F). I did this since I don't have a temperature sensor and I did just in case.

When I test out the system though, if I set the heat to 22C and the current temperature is 21C, the heat pump goes on for about 30 seconds and the thermostat says "Heat On" (as opposed to Aux On). Then, with the heat pump off and the thermostat says "Heat On" and the furnace fan is running. Then a few minutes later, the heat pump went on again! Then it went off again after about 30 seconds or a minute.

Maybe the thermostat is playing with the heat pump and seeing if it can cause a temperature increase before it decides to give up and use Aux heat?
Crap. This doesn't work. It's never switching to Auxiliary. I think the heat pump must be shutting off because it's just useless at heating beyond 21C or so. And it's not switching to Aux because of the lockout setting which I can't unset if I have the 210 setting set to "0".

I got rid of the resistor between the temperature terminals (so the outside temperature reads "--") and now it seems to be going to Aux heat and it's not even trying to use the heat pump (which makes sense because the heat pump is useless in getting to 22C).

Now to see what it does in the morning when the house will be about 18C inside and 5C outside and I'll be setting it to get to 21C. Maybe I'll try setting it to 18.5C just to make sure that it uses the heat pump only to get there. Then I'll set it to 22C and make sure it uses heat pump or Aux to get there, but not both at the same time.

Thanks again for all your help so far, I hope I am getting somewhere.
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 04:51 AM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


Quote:
Originally Posted by drnick5 View Post
No problem hijacking the thread, this is all GREAT info!

A few questions for you guys who have the IAQ Prestige

I'm looking at the various kits available, all coming with various accessories. the one i'm looking at these 2 kits

YTHX9421R5069:
which includes the Thermostat, Wireless outdoor temp sensor, Equipment interface module and 2 duct sensors.

I also see this YTHX9321R5079:
Includes thermostat, Wireless outdoor temp sensor (not EIM or Duct sensors)

my question is, do I need the EIM and or the Duct sensors? I Think the EIM is needed for a duel fuel setup like I'll have (gas furnace and heatpump/AC) but im just checking my work :-)

Also, people were talking about the coil, I have a pro who is installing this so he'll probably know the answer to this, but the furnace I got is a Goodman GMVC950915DX (downflow) and a CAPF4961D6 Coil. where is the coil installed? someone mentioned in an earlier post about the coil being installed on the hot side when it shouldn't be. where should it be installed?
Yes you need the EIM ( Equipment Interface Module ) to use that thermostat. However, the GMVC is a communicating furnace, and you might find it better to use the communicating thermostat from Goodman.

The evap coil belongs in the furnace discharge/supply side. Warranty is void if its installed on the return side. As it will cause condensate to form in the heat exchanger in cooling mode.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 09:50 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


thanks for the reply, you say I need the Equipment interface module to use this IAQ (which I was pretty sure I did, from what I see the t-stat has a cable that runs to the EIM and then everything else plugs into the EIM, right?) I guess I was wondering why honeywell sells kits that do not include the EIM?

you mention I might be better off using a communicating T-stat from Goodman? any particular reason? will I have problems using the IAQ? I assume Goodman doesn't have anything that compares, correct?

So in my case being a downflow furnace, the coil would sit on top or to the side of the furnace, correct? (since it pulls air from the top and pushes the cold air down into the duct box that feeds the cuts run through the house)
drnick5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:22 AM   #24
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


The coil would be located under the furnace in your case.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:28 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


Ok, when the outdoor temperature is reading "--" (because there is no outdoor sensor) it must be assuming that the lockout temperature is super high and it uses Auxiliary heat all the time.

It seems like the VisionPro 8320 maybe doesn't do what I want and that I would need a fossil fuel kit or an IAQ (VisionPro or Prestige?). I've looked at bit at the VisionPro IAQ and is it looks closer to what I need, but it involves wiring up this EIM and the outdoor sensor which might be a bit tricky (might involve fishing a wire down an old duct).
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 11:05 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


@Hvactec, thanks, "Beenthere" did say supply side...I clearly wasn't thinking when I wrote my response.

@DJGrant, I was originally looking at the Vision pro but saw the prestige isn't that much more and can be had with a wireless outdoor sensor (which is a pretty nice feature not having to run a wire) plus it seems to do so much more. plus I'm a big time geek and love my tech stuff.

I'm also slightly debating either an Ecobee or Nest thermostat. Both of them seem like pretty nice units, and both seems a little more customer friendly and are easier to install, but I'm 99% sure im gonna go with the Prestige. (what tips the scale for me is that I KNOW Honeywell will be around in 5 years, I can't say the same for Nest or Ecobee... and if I buy either one of them and the company goes out of business, I'll lose the big time feature of being able to control the system from my smartphone)
drnick5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:21 PM   #27
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


I don't like the ecobee because its touch screen in not very user friendly.....ie you have to learn exactly how it thinks you are touching it.

The nest will not do you any good for a dual fuel system.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:33 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


Good to know! didn't even look deep enough into Nest to see if it works with duel fuel, so now thats out, haha. Thanks again for all the helpful advice. looks like I'll be ordering the Prestige. When reading about nest I like the concept, but its funny that Honeywell is now suing Nest for infringing on patents (a lot of the patents honeywell isn't even suing, but still own)
drnick5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 02:24 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


I think with Prestige, there is no EIM, correct? It looks like the thermostat itself has a full set of terminals.
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 03:06 PM   #30
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat recomendations for hybrid Gas/electric heatpump?


There is a prestige and a prestige IAQ .. THERE IS A DIFFERENCE.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Thermostat settings for a heatpump Jimbo65 HVAC 6 12-13-2011 09:31 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Waterfurnace Hydronic Water and Air Heatpump Thermostat Configuration JDForinger HVAC 8 12-05-2010 04:57 PM
Frigidaire Heatpump/ Honeywell 3611 digital thermostat shanbrt HVAC 3 06-08-2009 07:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.