Thermostat Reads 80, Thermometer Reads 64 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2010, 06:53 PM   #1
The Dogfather
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Thermostat Reads 80, thermometer reads 64


Would a bad thermostat be the reason our house is always so cold? Our thermostat reads 80 when a thermometer placed right next to it reads 64.

Thermostat is a digital single stage Honeywell 3600 series.

Advertisement

HawkZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:11 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Thermostat Reads 80, thermometer reads 64


Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkZ28 View Post
Our thermostat reads 80 when a thermometer placed right next to it reads 64.
Replace the battery.
If it still reads 80 and feels like 64, then the Thermostat is Kaput

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:11 PM   #3
The Dogfather
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Thermostat Reads 80, thermometer reads 64


Fresh batteries were installed already. I wasn't sure if there was a calibration feature/function, or if it was self setting......figured it was the latter since the "destructions" didn't reference anything like that.

THANKS for the help! A new one it is!

Last edited by HawkZ28; 01-05-2010 at 08:40 PM.
HawkZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 06:37 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 11:07 PM
changed thermostat on York Affinity, now no heat? sotwell HVAC 1 03-01-2009 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts