Thermostat Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2012, 08:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Question


This may be a silly question. Is there a way to program the fan from a split system air handler, to run XX minutes, off XX minutes, on, off, on, off for a period of 6 to 8 hours ? I know you're asking why ? I was considering a dual fuel heat pump installation. But wondered if I could get by with this set up when needed. The return for the air handler is right beside my stand alone natural gas heater. And the thermostat is going to be relocated from the hallway, to the room where the air return and heater is located. On the days/nights when the heat pump is unable to heat efficiently, I could use the heat from the stand alone, to heat the rest of the house. Without the extra expense of a gas furnace add on. And it's not likely to get very cold for a long period of time in N. Alabama. And really, my intention is to use this set up at night, when I am sleeping. I prefer the room to be cool, but not cold. Could this be a sensible option ?

Advertisement

Rusty Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Thermostat Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Bob View Post
This may be a silly question. Is there a way to program the fan from a split system air handler, to run XX minutes, off XX minutes, on, off, on, off for a period of 6 to 8 hours ? I know you're asking why ? I was considering a dual fuel heat pump installation. But wondered if I could get by with this set up when needed. The return for the air handler is right beside my stand alone natural gas heater. And the thermostat is going to be relocated from the hallway, to the room where the air return and heater is located. On the days/nights when the heat pump is unable to heat efficiently, I could use the heat from the stand alone, to heat the rest of the house. Without the extra expense of a gas furnace add on. And it's not likely to get very cold for a long period of time in N. Alabama. And really, my intention is to use this set up at night, when I am sleeping. I prefer the room to be cool, but not cold. Could this be a sensible option ?
sure you can ..... time clocks ... dont understand why

Advertisement

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:20 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,366
Rewards Points: 1,096
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Thermostat Question


Carmon is right, you could do it with a time clock, but I'm not sure that you will get as much heat doing it that way as what you might think you will.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:44 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

Thermostat Question


Higher end thermostats have a recirc/circ feature that will run the fan for X minutes if the system has had a heat or cool cal in X minutes. This may be what you need.

Are you sure your furnace won't draw combusted fumes out of your stand alone? Is your tand alone more efficient then your gas furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Thermostat Question


I'd recommend a tstat with fan circulation also!

I just got an Aprilaire 8463 programable tstat which will turn the fan on after 30 minutes of inactivity. If you system goes more than 30 minutes without a normal cycle, then it will run the fan for 10 minutes in circulating the homes air.

I like the Aprilaire because it is a set time. Some models use percentages which may run the fan even if a normal cycle just ended. These type tstats can run upwards to $200.00 but you can look on Eb_y, as I got a great deal at $40.00(brand new) on mine. Very nice tstat with good options, btw.

Ralph

Last edited by Ralph III; 04-25-2012 at 11:04 AM.
Ralph III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 02:37 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Question


Well, like I said, it's just an idea. Instead of the extra expense of a dual fuel system, why not just go with a heat pump and recirculate the heat from the stand alone ventless gas heater ? Since I already have that, and the return air vent is situated right beside the heater. I understand this heat recirculation will not be anywhere near as warm as the dual fuel system.
Rusty Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:02 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

Thermostat Question


Where are the ducts located at. Your basement or your attic.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 07:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Question


Attic.
Rusty Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:11 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,401
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Thermostat Question


The 3m-80 from 3m Filtrete will, or the 3m-50 can with a third party software program for windows. Those two and the two Ecobee thermostats have this option.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 05:57 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

Thermostat Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Bob View Post
Attic.
May lose more heat to the attic, then you get to the other rooms then.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 09:43 AM
Thermostat Question andythedrew HVAC 21 09-03-2011 11:49 PM
question on old thermostat wiring for upgrade jthn HVAC 2 01-03-2011 12:07 AM
Question on installing an Honeywell RTH6350 programmable thermostat. outdoorted HVAC 3 01-02-2011 07:48 PM
Thermostat question ctown HVAC 7 12-05-2006 04:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts