Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 08:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Thermostat problems.


I set my thermostat (Braeburn 3000) to 73 but it will only go to 71. Sometimes it will not kick on at all. What is wrong?

virghmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 09:11 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,295
Default

Thermostat problems.


Post type of heating system: Hot water, forced air. Make model and serial # for some help.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 11:35 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thermostat problems.


I have a Ducane furnace Model#MPGA-10084a. my thermostat is a Braeburn3000. The temp in the room may be 65 but the thermostat is set on 72. Sometimes I reset the thermostat and it is fine but sometimes it will go up to 68 or 70 and quit.
virghmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 12:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Thermostat problems.


change the batteries I do not actually think this will solve the problem; but, the 3000 has given us truble and the batteries have often been the culprit.

when we have had trouble in the past it was the furnace not shutting of.

without being there I would say jump out the tsat see if the furnace will run long enough to raise temp to 72.

the 3000 does not have an adjustable swing. There are no backdoor adjustments. So if the furnace runs properly when jumped and batteries are good change the stat I would recommend a Honeywell 5000 or 8000 iaq if you need setback but a Robert Shaw non-programmable or a Honeywell T87fa would be my choice.
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 03:13 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,846
Default

Thermostat problems.


Have you changed the air filter lately.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:53 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Thermostat problems.


Quote:
Originally Posted by virghmd View Post
I set my thermostat (Braeburn 3000) to 73 but it will only go to 71. Sometimes it will not kick on at all. What is wrong?


with a post like that im guessing there not going to know how to jump the heat

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat VS Ceiling fan MrShadetree0222 HVAC 38 01-23-2010 03:29 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM
mini fridge thermostat problems furniture_guy Appliances 1 12-19-2006 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.