Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-09-2012, 04:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Hi Guys,

I'm having a issue hopefully I can get some insight on. My a/c or heater will not kick on. The fan is set to "auto" and is running non-stop. There is a switch, like a light switch, that can be used to turn the system on and off, and when I flip the switch, the unit will kick on, but turns off after about 10-15 seconds. I've replaced the batteries and I've tried jumping the 'Y' and 'G' wires, but got nothing. The a/c unit is new this year. Any help you can offer is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

curtdiggy513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #2
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


You need to jump the R and W to remove the tstat out of the equation. If your furnace fire up and stays on then you know its the stat.

__________________
Affordable Comfort, assisting with furnaces Barrie and surrounding area, as well as offering 24 hour furnace repair
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Acomfort For This Useful Post:
curtdiggy513 (09-09-2012)
Old 09-09-2012, 05:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Acomfort View Post
You need to jump the R and W to remove the tstat out of the equation. If your furnace fire up and stays on then you know its the stat.
Thanks for your response. i tried this and had no luck. It did the same thing. Kicked on for about 15 seconds and then off. Is it a good sign that it will even kick on at all?
curtdiggy513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 05:53 PM   #4
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Are your burners coming on at all ?
__________________
Affordable Comfort, assisting with furnaces Barrie and surrounding area, as well as offering 24 hour furnace repair
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 05:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Hi are you saying the furnace fires up and then shuts down after the 15 secs or the a/c ?
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac dude View Post
Hi are you saying the furnace fires up and then shuts down after the 15 secs or the a/c ?
Okay, I went and stood by the a/c unit and it is not turning on after all. When I turn the switch on, the fan gets louder for the 15 seconds, but the unit outside does nothing. It is the same for the heater. Neither will kick on. I can hear an audible click from the therm, which is usually followed by something turning on, but now, nothing.
curtdiggy513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


I would go to yur thermostat disconnect the r w y g wires make sure they dont touch each other (turn power to furnace off) . turn power back on once wires are disconnected and connect the r an g wires together the fan on the furnace shud start and run on , let me know what happens at this stage ,what switch and what fan goes louder
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


i also just noticed you jumpered y and g b4 is that correct ? if so you may have blown the control fuse on the transformer or tripped the mini circut breaker on transformer if equipped with one ,
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:30 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


I tried this as well and got the same results. Where is the transformer located? At this point, is this something that's out of my hands? I honestly can't afford to call a repair man.
curtdiggy513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,211
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Was the unit new? Sounds like a warrenty issue.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:35 PM   #11
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Honestly, at this point I would say its time to call someone in... If you want to look at the back of the board for any scorch marks, it's sounding like a board issue to me.
__________________
Affordable Comfort, assisting with furnaces Barrie and surrounding area, as well as offering 24 hour furnace repair
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:36 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada ontario
Posts: 117
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


transformers located in the furnace around the circut board area , upload some pics if u can .of area by electrical on furnace . hope u tuned power back on b4 connecting r to g ?
hvac dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 11:10 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Send some pictures if you take the panel off the heater and call for heat you should have a red light that blinks look at the backside of the panel for the code and it will give you a list of issues.
afrye707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:34 AM   #14
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,600
Default

thermostat problem (hopefully!)


Y to G isn't a jump R to Y is condenser out side and R to G is the supply fan on the furnace....once you pull the stat off the subbase a jump is the only thing that will give you an action...try G to R for supply fan........if your getting any actions on any jump you have 24Vsfrom the TR

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programmable Thermostat Problem HandyHunter HVAC 19 04-01-2012 07:56 PM
Thermostat or oil burner problem? freyguys HVAC 5 02-25-2010 01:44 PM
Changed thermostat and have problem ssmcalister HVAC 3 10-29-2008 04:40 PM
Hunter Thermostat Problem kohlernm HVAC 1 11-22-2007 09:58 PM
Thermostat Wiring Problem crazy woman HVAC 2 08-15-2006 09:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.