Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2009, 01:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat problem?


Hi , Im trying to figure out if the problem im having lies in the t-stat, I have a heat pump & the furnace wont kick in the second stage (propane) unless i manually adjust the t-stat to a higher setting. Ive checked the differential adjusments & the second stage should be kicking in after 15 minutes of heat pump activity. its almost like the timer in the t-stat went out. any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. btw im running a trane xb-90 furnace, american standard heat pump kit tayplus103a & robertshaw 9240 t-stat. Thanks.

journeymanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 03:46 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Thermostat problem?


Why do you only want the heat pump to run 15 minutes.
Thats not much of a run time for a heat pump.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 04:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Why do you only want the heat pump to run 15 minutes.
Thats not much of a run time for a heat pump.

Thats just where i set it after making sure it wasnt a programming issue, ill make it longer when i get it figured out, the last 2 (cold) nights ive been getting an error message & the heat pump has been running for hours until I move up the set-point on the t-stat, then the propane back-up kicks in & everything is fine until the next cycle.
journeymanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:36 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Thermostat problem?


Dual fuel kit is set up or wired wrong.

Is the temp dropping in your house. if not, then it shouldn't switch over to the gas furnace.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 10:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Dual fuel kit is set up or wired wrong.

Is the temp dropping in your house. if not, then it shouldn't switch over to the gas furnace.
yes, the er code on the robertshaw t-stat means the unit isnt keeping up with demand,you would think if the problem is in the dual fuel unit it wouldnt go to propane just by bumping the t-stat up a couple degrees, that is why im leaning towards a bad t-stat.
journeymanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:25 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Thermostat problem?


Its the dual fuel kit that is suppose to stop it from going to LP unless its needed. Even when bumped up a couple degrees.

I'd recheck the wiring before just getting a new stat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat problem?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Its the dual fuel kit that is suppose to stop it from going to LP unless its needed. Even when bumped up a couple degrees.

I'd recheck the wiring before just getting a new stat.
Thanks, ill have to read up on it & see what`s up with it, I just moved in here & have always had natural gas systems & not exactly sure how these are supposed to operate.

journeymanj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat problem vtec69 Electrical 7 11-27-2009 11:07 AM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 06:37 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 11:07 PM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 08:13 PM
2 stage heat thermostat problem W1 AND w2 wires whatdoIdonow HVAC 6 11-26-2006 01:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.