Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 152
Share |
Default

Thermostat Problem


I've been having an odd problem for the last few days with my thermostat. It is a three year old programmable thermostat (not sure of the brand because I'm not at home).

It is scheduled to come on at different times of the day depending on when I typically get home from work and when I typically wake up in the morning. I recently noticed that the thermostat wasn't turning my furnace on - the light on the thermostat said that it was on, but the furnace wasn't doing anything (no blower, no flames - nothing). So, I turned the thermostat off and then on again, and it worked fine.

The problem seems to now happen every time the thermostat goes from "away" to "home" mode or "sleep" to "wake" mode. The thermostat functions normally in between those times.

Does this sound like a thermostat issue? Is it cheaper to just buy a new one instead of trying to trouble shoot the old one?
loftezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 02:23 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

Thermostat Problem


A supply house will sell a cheap programmable White-Rodgers stat for under $40, more like $32 around here. Home Depot will sell Honeywell for around $70 so per your definiton of cheap I'd possibly buy a new one and switch it. Seeing as how I carry these stock on my truck I'd personally switch it out and see how it runs for a few days / a week and follow up with you if I was the service tech called out to your home.

Tried changing the batteries?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 152
Default

Thermostat Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
.

Tried changing the batteries?
I'm ashamed to admit it, but no, I have not tried changing the batteries yet

I'll try that this afternoon!
loftezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Thermostat Problem


on that subbase do you see a C terminal and yes the batteries are weak,powerful enought to light the stat but no swing the heat mode with in
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 05:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 152
Default

Thermostat Problem


I'm embarrassed to admit this, but I think changing the batteries solved my problem. In my defense, though, the thermostat is supposed to show a "Low Battery" message when the batteries are low.

This might be a low point in my around-the-house-handyman career.
loftezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 10:53 AM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Thermostat or oil burner problem? freyguys HVAC 5 02-25-2010 01:44 PM
Changed thermostat and have problem ssmcalister HVAC 3 10-29-2008 04:40 PM
Hunter Thermostat Problem kohlernm HVAC 1 11-22-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.