Thermostat Isolation - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2010, 06:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


I have a Hunter 5 - 2 thermostat and I am thinking that the cold wall that it is currently on is causing the unit to run ineffectively from time to time. The house is 110 years old, all plaster walls. The unit is currently in the dining room on the wall that separates it from the kitchen. I have plugged the hole behind the unit with expanding foam and used duck tape on the mounting bracket to help reduce unwanted air flow from the wall. Should I start off by purchasing a cheap thermometer and placing it somewhere in the room to gauge the temp before I think about moving the unit to a wall that might not be as cold, or do some of you have a good isolation trick? Thanks in advance.

Forgot to add that I have a Lennox forced gas heater from 1994, and when the unit runs the house feels like a million degrees before the thermostat shuts it off.

Advertisement


Last edited by mferguson0414; 02-17-2010 at 06:11 AM. Reason: forgot something
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:24 AM   #2
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Isolation


First thing I would do is think about why the wall is cold. If it is an interior wall you have an air leak some place and need to address that before you try to move the therm. You could end up moving it and finding you have cold spots all over the house. I would look at why the wall is cold. Is there and air leak to the outside, is there not a fire barrier to at the bottom of the wall which allows air to flow up the inside of the wall and cause it to be cold (this could be a huge issue do to condensation inside the wall if you do have cold air inside the wall).


N8

Advertisement

Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:28 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Thermostat Isolation


The thermostat is faulty. Buy a good Honeywell Focus or Vision Pro at HDepot and install it. Lots of problems with that brand and the elcheapos. Hunter/Lux etc. You get what you pay for.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


Hmmm, what to do, what to do....
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:03 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

Thermostat Isolation


" when the unit runs the house feels like a million degrees before the thermostat shuts it off."
Sign of a faulty thermostat. If there is no draft behind it then the wall temp should not bother it. It senses the ambient temp around it. I have replaced hordes of them. The pin connectors between the tstat and subbase get loose/corroded etc etc.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-17-2010 at 06:07 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


I wanted to tell myself that, but with the wall/walls being cold I wanted to get a few opinions. The only thing I can think that is causing any type of air leak is that the location in the basement where the water lines run to the 2nd floor is in the same cavity that the thermostat is located and the holes aren't exactly perfectly tight around the pipes, I might try and shoot some spray foam around them and see if that helps any transfer of the cold air from the unconditioned basement seep into that wall cavity.
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:08 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Thermostat Isolation


Hunter makes a really great ceiling fan.

What temp is the stat set for. And what temp does it say the room is when it shuts off the furnace.
has it been doing this since the furnace was installed in 94?

Is it possible the furnace is oversized too much, and that it just overshoots because of the residual heat after the burners shut off.

Did I mention, hunter makes a great ceiling fan.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


I have only owned the house since 2006, the furnace may be over sized for the house, I would not know the first thing to check for verification of that. It has always done it since 06, but recently with my kick on trying to save money I am picking my house apart and that is next on the list. It is set for 66 from the hours of 3-9P.M. and it goes 1 degree above that and shuts off, well at least the gas does, the fan continues to blow for a little while. Hunter does make a nice fan, I have 3...
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:37 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Thermostat Isolation


Quote:
Originally Posted by mferguson0414 View Post
It is set for 66 from the hours of 3-9P.M. and it goes 1 degree above that and shuts off, well at least the gas does, the fan continues to blow for a little while. Hunter does make a nice fan, I have 3...
Does the temp keep on rising after the burners shut off.


Mom always said, if you can't say anything good. Don't say anything.

Hunter makes a great ceiling fan. LOL
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:42 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


Ok ok, thank you for holding your tongue. I will go out and look for a new thermostat this weekend per your recommendations. Are there any brand preferences you would suggest? The temperature does not climb up to high, if its set on 66, at times it might end up hitting 68when the fan finally shuts off.
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:46 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Thermostat Isolation


Honeywell.

Of course. I don't use the box store versions. So I can't say they are as good as the ones i use.
But will probably be better then that ceiling fan companies one.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:48 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


Can a normal consumer purchase the type of honeywell you use? You have a website you can send me to?
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:57 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Thermostat Isolation


I get mine from the local supply houses.
So i don't have any websites.
You can get the same ones at Graingers.

And I'm sure they're many on line sites that sell the TH(not RTH).
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


sorry but what is TH?
mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:02 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Thermostat Isolation


I have a grainger about 8 minutes down the road, I might go by and check them out.

Advertisement

mferguson0414 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 06:37 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 11:07 PM
Thermostat from Manual to Digital trinamillersmit HVAC 5 07-02-2009 10:21 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 08:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts