Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2006, 09:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Share |
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Hi all,

I have a Burhman steam heat boiler that I am trying to install a Honeywell Pro TH411OD Programmable Thermostat. I wired it up, and the boiler is clicking as if it wanted to start, but doesn't start. I raised up the thermostat to 75 degrees, while the room was at 58, and the boiler kicks on for a few seconds, but then the thermostat jumps to 58 and the boiler cuts off. Please help me out, Thanks I have it set in the heat position of course, and the boiler has 3 wires, one transformer. All advices are welcome.

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 09:46 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Default

Thermostat Installation help


3 wires? Is this really steam? Do you have zone valves for a hot water system? Or mod motors for 3-way valves on a steam system? I'm a bit stumped at the moment on the three wires at the stat for a steamer.

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


No, just Steam Heat, seperate hot water heater. Thanks
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 08:41 AM   #4
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Hi helplesshandyman

Can you let me know the wire colors and where they are hooked up. I need to know the letter designation and wire color that is on it.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 10:34 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Thanks Carrierman, I know we are using the C, W and the R and Rc with a jumper. I will have to check at the other end in the basement when I get home tonight. My friend installed it yesterday, and the thermostat was flickering as if it was wired wrong, so I disconnected it so it wouldn't burn out the transformer, you can also hear the boiler downstairs clicking as if it wanted to start. I know 2 wires are coming from the transformer near the boiler, but I don't know where the other wire is coming from. If we jump the wires, the boiler kicks on, so I know it has to do with the thermostat. My friend left with the impression that the thermostat wasn't any good, but its brand new. I didn't want to make him feel bad, so I left it as is. Thanks again.

Last edited by helpless handyman; 11-20-2006 at 10:39 AM.
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 12:15 PM   #6
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Hi helplesshandyman

I will wait for your post this evening, I definatley need to know how it is hooked of on the boiler side.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 12:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Thanks, you guys are awesome!!!
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:02 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


okay Carrierman, here we go. I am not at the house, but I just came from there. I am renovating the house so I haven't moved in yet, but need this baby to start running on her own, this way my pipes won't freeze.

Thermostat Wiring
The thermostat has :W Y G O Rc R B C
We have the White wire going to the W, Y has nothing, G has nothing, O has nothing, Rc and R have a jumper installed, and we have the Red Wire on that. B has nothing, and C has the black wire.
So we are using 3 wires, Red, Black and White


Boiler side: There is a Red wire, White wire, Black wire and Yellow wire.
The Red wire goes up to the Thermostat upstairs, the White and Black are twisted together and are on one lead of the Tranformer, the Yellow wire in on the other lead of the transformer. Thanks so much Carrierman!!!
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:17 PM   #9
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Hi helplesshandyman

Here we go, put the red wire at the thermostat on the R terminal. No need for jumper because your not running a/c. Take the white wire of the thermostat to W on thermostat and black wire to C on thermostat. Once you have done that verify that its ok and move to the boiler. Untwist the white and the black, put the black wire on the opposite terminal of the red wire on the transformer. This will leave the white wire unhooked. I need you to verify for me where the yellow wire goes to and what kind of ignition source you have, standing pilot, intermittent electronic pilot. I will need to know this to finish this up for you. Let me know as soon as you can and we will get this going.

Good luck
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:28 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Okay Carrierman, the yellow wire goes into a and electrical box, the boiler has a gas fired pilot light, which has to be ignited when I shut the gas off of course. Its not an automatic electrical ignition type. I left the jumper on Rc and R because the instructions states, In single transformer system, leave metal jumper in place between Rc and R. I thought that was what my friend was doing wrong when I saw the jumper, but it was on the thermostat when we took it out of the box. It state also remove jumper if two-transformer system. Hope this helps. Thanks again. Also another question, this boiler has an auto water feed, when the boiler is off, the glass tube is full, when boiler is on the tube goes down to like a quarter. Is this normal? I am new to owning a home. Thanks
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:36 PM   #11
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Hi helplesshandyman

Where is the red wire on the boiler side? It should be on one terminal of the transformer and the black wire should be on the other side of the transformer. And the answer to your second question, it sounds like the water level is fine. I know it may seem like this is taking a while but I want to be accurate with the response. Let me know I will stand by for your answer.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Okay, I am not in the house, but there is an electrical box beside the boiler, on front of that box is the transformer attached to the cover of the electrical box. The red and yellow wire comes out of that box. I did not open that box, and don't know whats in there. Since its electrical I did not want to remove it. Is there suppose to be another transformer inside there?

I am getting a little mixed up here, on the transformer that can be seen in the boiler area, there are 2 screws, one one of the screw the White and Black wire are on one lead,(twisted together) and on the other screw the yellow wire.. On my previous post I wrote, Boiler side:
Red wire goes up to thermostat, White and Black wire twisted together on one screw of the transformer. A yellow wire comes out of the electrical box and goes to the other screw on the transformer. Hope you got it.

Last edited by helpless handyman; 11-20-2006 at 07:52 PM.
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 08:12 PM   #13
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Default

Thermostat Installation help


(I'd have a hard time continuing to help a person that doesn't want to help themself)
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 08:13 PM   #14
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Hi helplesshandyman

Now i've got it, if you have a printer you will want to print this out. The first thing I want you to do. Remove the black and white wires from the transformer. Untwist the white from the black, Put the black wire back on the same terminal as the yellow wire. Clip the red wire that goes into the box. The end that goes back up to the thermostat needs to go to the transformer screw that should be open. Take the white wire and wire nut it together with the red wire going into the box. This will complete your circuit and will eliminate your direct short. As far as the RC-R jumper like I said previously, You only need the RC terminal for airconditioning. Let me know if you don't understand what I put in this post and I will try to simplify it a little more. Just remember if you follow what I have here you will have no problems. Don't be afraid to tackle this, you will be alright. Let me know how it works for you.

Good luck
Rusty

Last edited by #CARRIERMAN; 11-20-2006 at 08:15 PM.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 08:26 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Thermostat Installation help


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
(I'd have a hard time continuing to help a person that doesn't want to help themself)
I don't even know why you even wrote this, I am trying to help myself and I really appreciate all you guys on this forum. So I don't know what you are talking about!

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOMA Thermostat brobinson68 HVAC 5 01-17-2007 02:36 PM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM
Lux 722E Thermostat mgkicker HVAC 3 10-27-2006 01:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.