Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 09:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Help


I replaced an old thermostat with a Hunter Universal thermostat and followed the instructions to the letter. Ran into a problem!! There is only one slot for E/W2 wire. I have both the E and the W2 wires. I put them in the same slot but it just dont feel right to do that. What do I do?

angel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:46 PM   #2
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Thermostat Help


What kind of furnace do you have? I dont recall ever seeing an e terminal. I know w2 is the terminal for the second stage of heat in a two stage furnace.

thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:08 AM   #3
HVAC Supermodel
 
unicursalhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wa
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Help


You didn't mention what kind of equipment you're running. The terminals are different for heat pump than for conventional, make sure you're reading the right line
unicursalhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 02:18 AM   #4
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Thermostat Help


What terminal is e for? Is it for humidifier?
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:05 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Thermostat Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by thehvacguy View Post
What terminal is e for? Is it for humidifier?
Emergency heat, on a heat pump.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:08 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Thermostat Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by angel1971 View Post
I replaced an old thermostat with a Hunter Universal thermostat and followed the instructions to the letter. Ran into a problem!! There is only one slot for E/W2 wire. I have both the E and the W2 wires. I put them in the same slot but it just dont feel right to do that. What do I do?

Either leave them both in the same slot. Or get a thermostat with separate E and W2 terminals.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 03:24 PM   #7
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Thermostat Help


By emergency heat are you referring to the electric heat strips that come on during defrost?
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 05:08 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Thermostat Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by thehvacguy View Post
By emergency heat are you referring to the electric heat strips that come on during defrost?
That would be aux, or back up heat.

Emergency heat is the same heaters. But is only controlled by the thermostat when the thermostat is turned to emergency heat. When set to emergency heat, the heat pump does not run.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 09:34 PM   #9
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Thermostat Help


I dont understand, if the heat pump doesnt run during emergency heat, then where does the heat come from? And what is the purpose of the emergency heat function?
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 02:26 AM   #10
HVAC Supermodel
 
unicursalhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wa
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Thermostat Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by thehvacguy View Post
I dont understand, if the heat pump doesnt run during emergency heat, then where does the heat come from? And what is the purpose of the emergency heat function?
It runs a backup heat source, usually electric heat strips in the air handler, for dual fuel systems it usually runs a gas furnace. The purpose(s) of emergency heat is to run at lower temps (usually around 30 degrees) when the heat pump can no longer extract enough heat. It can also be used as another heat source if the heat pump goes out.
unicursalhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:38 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,023
Rewards Points: 3,712
Default

Thermostat Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by thehvacguy View Post
I dont understand, if the heat pump doesnt run during emergency heat, then where does the heat come from? And what is the purpose of the emergency heat function?
Majority of all heat pumps have an aux heat source. This heat source is also the emergency heat when the heat pump is non functional.

As uni posted. It can be electric strip heaters, gas furnace or boiler, oil furnace or boiler.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 12:46 PM
double pole thermostat for kickspace heater lee12 Electrical 3 12-09-2010 01:52 PM
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 06:40 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-10-2010 12:58 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.