Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2009, 11:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


Having a problem with getting new thermostat to work, my wife wanted a simple thermostat so I changed it. I had Honeywell 32207415-0299948 7 day programable. I boght from Grainger a White Rodgers 1F80 361, it is a 4 wire system. When I hooked every thing up just like before I can now only get AC only. HELP?????

okieinarizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 11:55 AM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


what were the terminal connection on the old stat?

what are the terminal connections on the new stat?

If this is a heat pump then you need more than 4 wires

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


Wiring is

Red - Rh
Yellow
White
Green

Red has jumper from Rh to Rc
okieinarizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:07 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by okieinarizona View Post
Wiring is

Red - Rh
Yellow
White
Green

Red has jumper from Rh to Rc

If this is the new stat it is not for a heat pump you need an "O" terminal too

What are the terminals on the old stat?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:15 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


The wiring on the old one were the same, I had someone tell me to put a jumper from greem to yellow and it didnt help still only a/c.

There are only 4 wires

??????????????
okieinarizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:19 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by okieinarizona View Post
The wiring on the old one were the same, I had someone tell me to put a jumper from greem to yellow and it didnt help still only a/c.

There are only 4 wires

??????????????

Jumping the G/Y makes the fan come on when there is a call for a/c.

Are you 100% sure you have a HP
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


I've seen 4 wire stats connected to geothermal heatpumps. The white was for the reversing valve. O or B would be the next question. Probably B.

If you don't remember where white was, post the make and model of your heatpump.

If this is not a heatpump, it probably must be set for electric heat.

Last edited by Houston204; 11-08-2009 at 12:27 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 12:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


This thermostat is configured from the factory to operate a heat/
cool, fossil fuel (gas, oil, etc.), forced air system. It is configured
correctly for any system that DOES NOT require the thermostat
to energize the fan on a call for heat. If your system is an electric
heat or heat-pump system that REQUIRES the thermostat to
turn on the fan on a call for heat, locate the ELECTRIC/GAS
switch on the back of the thermostat (see fig. 1) and switch it to
the ELECTRIC position. This will allow the thermostat to
energize the fan immediately on a call for heat.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 02:30 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,088
Rewards Points: 70
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


Post the brand and model of you heat pump, and air handler.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat for Heat Pump


If it's a rheem/ruud heat pump put white on B .Add a jumper wire between y and w terminals.
Most other brands of heat pump put the white on o. Still need the jumper between y and w

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
carrier infinity 50Xt packaged heat pump with infinity thermostat mguillen HVAC 12 12-05-2011 01:42 PM
Well Pump Problems dannyjoe Plumbing 6 10-01-2009 06:10 PM
Sump Pump Questions henlij Plumbing 19 08-12-2009 07:50 PM
programmable thermostat + heat pump Potomac101 HVAC 10 12-03-2008 10:02 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.