Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 07:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Headache


I'm having trouble getting my new thermostat wired correctly
and it is driving me insane. The old one died in the middle of
summer and we had to replace it (can't live in phoenix without AC)

First, how it was originally wired:



When the thermostat died i switched to a Honeywell RTH111/221
Image: LINK
Instructions:LINK
Going by the directions, the AC activation would ONLY activate
the fan, and not the compressor.

here are results from me trying to heat/cool the house:


and




Also:
if i add a jumper from Y to W it APPEARS to work correctly
but I'm worried that it might be turning on the heat AND
the A/C at the same time. I'm terrified of killing the unit.

I tried calling customer support and got a guy in India. After only
2 mins of trying to explain what it's doing - and that following the
instructions don't work - he put me on hold.... for an hour.
So i gave up on that idea.

Any help would be appreciated. i don't want to fry my unit and
we cant afford an electrician, HV/AC pro, or even gas for our car.

Additional info:
all electric unit.
roof mount.
Summer Daytime highs: 120F
Winter OverNight Lows: 20F

The current problem is i have it set for HEAT wiring, but the heat takes over an hour to warm up.
So when it reaches 70F in the house it activates heat and blows cold.... at about 65F it finally warms up enough to get us to 71F
(current temp outside about 32F)


Last edited by WaxyChicken; 12-07-2011 at 07:41 AM.
WaxyChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Thermostat Headache


Need more info. Is this a heat pump unit? If in Phoenix, I assume yes.
Does your unit have an auxillary heat strip?

You dont show enough wires in your picture. If this is a heat pump, you will have a reversing valve wire also, either orange or blue.
Also, white would be the second stage heat (auxillary)

Give some more info please. Type and brand of unit on roof, if you have auxillary heat, model of new T stat.

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 08:37 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Headache


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
Need more info. Is this a heat pump unit? If in Phoenix, I assume yes.
Does your unit have an auxillary heat strip?

You dont show enough wires in your picture. If this is a heat pump, you will have a reversing valve wire also, either orange or blue.
Also, white would be the second stage heat (auxillary)

Give some more info please. Type and brand of unit on roof, if you have auxiliary heat, model of new T stat.
Thanks for the reply Sammy. I'll get on the roof and take a look after it warms up outside. (it's 7am now) But those are all the wires coming through the wall.

Should i punch the hole a little larger in the and see if some wires ran away?
(i can repair minor drywall damage, just a matter of the 'Wife' factor.)

What is an Axillary heat strip and how do i know if it has one or recognize it?
WaxyChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Thermostat Headache


You probably dont have a heat strip but I still need to know if this is a heat pump, or straight elec tric heat.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 592
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Thermostat Headache


It is a heat pump.
It was not wired to control electric Aux heat.
You need a different stat.


The RTH111/RTH221 thermostats can be used to control:
a gas, oil or electric furnace 2 or 3 wires
a central air conditioner 2 or 3 wires
a hot water system (steam or gravity) with or without pump 2 wires
a millivolt system 2 wires
a central heating system with air conditioning 4 or 5 wires
NOTE
: This thermostat is not compatible with heat pumps or
multi-stage systems.

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:01 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Headache


I replaced old one with Honeywell RTH2300 this winter by following instruction on menual. I don't think it's necessary to change jumper. You can check control broad where you can find the same wiring chart as you need to do on thermostat end.
marion60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:02 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Thermostat Headache


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
It is a heat pump.
It was not wired to control electric Aux heat.
You need a different stat.


The RTH111/RTH221 thermostats can be used to control:
a gas, oil or electric furnace 2 or 3 wires
a central air conditioner 2 or 3 wires
a hot water system (steam or gravity) with or without pump 2 wires
a millivolt system 2 wires
a central heating system with air conditioning 4 or 5 wires


NOTE
: This thermostat is not compatible with heat pumps or

multi-stage systems.


Ha ha, I looked at his wiring diagrams over and over and didnt see the first one had the white hooked to O.
I also didnt see the new thermostat model he listed. Duh! it's early for me.

He doesnt need a stat to control aux heat, he doesnt have it, he just needs a single stage stat for a heat pump.

And to the OP, I dont know why your original pic has a jumper between Y and W but otherwise, it looks like your white wire is for your reversing valve.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:20 AM   #8
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 592
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Thermostat Headache


The jumper was to energize the compressor upon demand for heat or cooling. Newer stats often do this internally when configured for heat pump operation.

The white wire is controlling the reversing valve.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:08 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Thermostat Headache


Interesting about the jumper between Y&W, havent encountered one of those yet.

To the OP, wire your new stat

red to R

green to G

white to O

yellow to Y

Leave the jumper out of the new stat, you wont need it.
Make sure you go into the thermostat menu and configure it for heat pump and set the reversing valve to O.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:28 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermostat Headache


Ok, so i need a new stat for a Heat Pump (with an O prong)
and follow that wiring diagram. Gotcha.


Thanks
any problems then i'll revive the thread.
WaxyChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:15 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 276
Default

Thermostat Headache


Yes, go to either big box store and pick up a Honeywell stat. Look on the back of the package and make sure it says compatbile for single or multistage heat pump. Although you dont have a multistage unit, it will still work.
Just make sure that it's Honeywell and not some other brand.

sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat ohman HVAC 3 06-08-2011 05:35 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 11:46 AM
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 05:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.