Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2012, 12:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


Something here has to be missing from the wiring.

Thermostat functions as expected in both heating and cooling while in AUTO mode. With this hot whether the A/C is constantly running and the downstairs is freezing in split level basement.

I would like to save some money since the home is 4000 sq ft and my A/C is only rated at SEER 10 and run the FAN only.

What is wrong with this wiring? (Right middle screw letter is blocked, it has a "B" next to it)

Thank you!!!

ttowngremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 12:32 AM   #2
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


I can't see.Do you have a wire connected to the "Y" terminal?what does the relay at the furnace look like.Is it a fan center or is it a circut board???
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 01:17 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


There is a black wire going to the "Y" terminal.

Sorry about this picture...not really sure what I'm taking a photo of here --- I just know the wires are coming here.

ttowngremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 03:02 AM   #4
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


OK you have a circut board.If you look at the circut board you will see a green wire attached.That green wire has to be attached to the "G" terminal on the thermostat.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 07:52 AM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


runnng that fan only isn't going to cool the house just push the heat around from room to room.keep any sunlight from hitting the windows sills and or walls and floors,run ceiling fans if there...and in the real hot days run the system COOL/FAN/ON that will cycle some of that colder LL air back up top.might want to cheat those LL registers to get more air up top.does the LL have a return grill to the furnace/air handler.green wire is there need to land it on G as said..quick test jump R to G for fan on as if you switched it from the subbase..just to verify that mode
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 08:27 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


Thanks for the tips.

After looking around the lower level, I have realized there are NO INTAKES on the lower level.

This defeats the purpose I had for getting this to work.

Is it unadvised to shut off all the lower vents or will this hurt the system? I could also possibly install a shutoff type valve that distributes air to the lower level.

Will this over-stress the air handler though?

Thanks all for the replies!
ttowngremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 05:40 AM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Thermostat "FAN ON" not working (pictures of wiring)


if you can tap into the return(piece of flex) and add a retangular grill(wall mount)to pull return from the LL.then cheat down all the grills on the supply on that LL and the return pull will move air and not chill out uncontrolled with the stat up stairs..cheating that LL will push the air up into the main floor
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 10:53 AM
Help Wiring Programmable Thermostat Brio9 HVAC 4 02-13-2011 11:25 PM
Thermostat to Controller Wiring Molson HVAC 1 07-05-2010 06:24 PM
Thermostat Heat Pump Wiring difficulties akg4y HVAC 8 04-15-2010 05:16 AM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 06:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.