Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2008, 10:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Thermostat??


The other night we noticed the outside unit to the ac was not blowing, but the fan was. I went outside and jiggled the thermostat wire and everything worked fine. I got home from work this morning and nothing works. The heat, ac, or fan is not working, but you can manually make the outside unit work. What could this possibly be??

Denhamjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 11:22 AM   #2
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat??


Have you trimmed any weeds around the outdoor unit lately? May have cut and/or shorted stat wires from the indoor unit.

If nothing works the transformer may have failed, and unless your an electrician or a qualified service tech, you may want to call for service.

8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat??


Just changed the transformer....still doesnt work...shouldnt there be a fuse somewhere?? If so where would it be?
Denhamjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 03:07 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Thermostat??


ok im an idiot. I changed the transformer to the doorbell instead of the a/c unit. LOL it works now
Denhamjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Totaline thermostat trouble shooting Goldwing93 HVAC 3 07-30-2009 10:35 PM
Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat kat83 Electrical 2 05-22-2008 11:52 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.