Thermopride Oil Furnace Won't Ignite - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 11:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


Thermopride OL20-151 oil furnace won’t start. It is 24 degrees outside and house is getting cold on Sat night.

The thermostat is set at 80 on heat. The breaker and emergency shutoff are both on. I have ¾ tank of oil.

When I hit the red reset button, I get a quick flash of light and clicking sound. A few seconds later the red light comes on. I pulled open the transformer and wiped off the sensor.

I pulled out the nozzle and cleaned it off. It was replaced last Spring when the unit had the annual cleaning. It looks OK but I wiped off some soot and oil. There was a little oil since I have hit the reset button about 4 or 5 times in last 2 hours.

The controller and burner motor were replaced last Spring (serviceman said they both were about to fail). Otherwise, haven’t had any problems with it til now.

I would really like to get the heat back on tonight. What should I do next?

I appreciate any suggestions.

Advertisement

Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:19 AM   #2
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


If you have in fact hit that reset button 4 or 5 times like you said,I figure you now have a pool of oil big enough to cause a good explosion.
It is now too late to do anything .If it catches now your furnace will actually move around and you will have enough smoke and soot to fill an old victorian 3 floor house.The best thing you can do is call for help and forget that anyone ever told you about that reset button.
Please,please tell the repairman that you hit that button that many times so he can maybe prevent the biggest mess you ever saw.

Advertisement

REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


Thanks for responding.

It was wet, but not a pool. I wiped it out with a rag.

Do you have any other advice?

Thanks,
Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:00 AM   #4
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim33 View Post
Thanks for responding.

It was wet, but not a pool. I wiped it out with a rag.

Do you have any other advice?

Thanks,
I remember the first time one took off on me because the customer didn't tell me they had hit the buttom a few times.
I didn't know if I wanted to crap or cry it scared the hell out of me.
It sounds like either the transformer is weak or the electrodes are either dirty or out of set.
I don't know how to help you at this point.You might find the point setting in your owners manuel and I know how to see if a transformer is weak but don't know how to tell you without being there.
You do have one of the best oil furnaces made so the only thing I can strngly reccomend is that when you do get a serviceman there make sure he sets up the burner with instraments.Doing it by eye will only cost you upwards of $400 in extra oil this year.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 04:03 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


Wow. He could tell that the motor and primary wee both about to go out? They were either all rusted up, or he was making commission.

Could be a bad nozzle, transformer, oil pump, coupler, oil filter, water in oil. And a couple other things. can't tell from your description. But, STOP pressing the reset button. If its pumping oil, you can't get the oil out of the combustion chamber's fibers. An it will have a bad lite off, and you will be surprised at how bad it can get when it doe lite off.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 05:35 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


checked over in youtube on that type...clean the fire eye maybe sooted up...it needs to see light/fire up in seconds of ignition or it trips..check the bleed solid flow into a bucket...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:58 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


Apparently you can get a rag in the firebox area because you wiped it up. shut off power to the unit, light a napkin or paper towel and push it into the fire box where you wiped it up it should start burning off the excess oil that's laying there if any, you will probably see a lazy flame burning off the excess oil.
After that close everything up, call the pro and explain everything to him/her.
NO MORE RED BUTTON PUSHING.
Sorry wish we could get you running but it sounds like a pro has to look at it, too many things could be causing the problem.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:23 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Thermopride Oil furnace won't ignite


I really appreciate all the helpful replies.

I replaced the nozzle with the one that was taken out last Spring. I soaked it in rubbing alcohol to clean it. This nozzle was removed during the annual service. The repairman left it on the floor and I put it in my junkroom. But, I can't run out and buy a nozzle at 2 am Sunday morning so it came in handy. Anyway, this used nozzle was a 1.25 A and the one that he installed was a 1.25 B. I see in the specifications that my unit can take either A or B.

Started up immediately when I flipped the breaker back on.

I am going to go ahead and schedule the annual maintenance just to get it checked over.

Thanks again,

Advertisement

Jim33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series – Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
york rooftop furnace will not ignite transanlt1 HVAC 6 01-02-2012 10:14 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts