Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2010, 06:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


I just recently purchased two Honeywell TH8320 thermostats for a house my wife and I just recently moved into. After install I thought everything was working great, but my last two electric bills have been ridiculously high. I have a gas furnace so I found this really strange. The furnace is a GMP100-5 (propane) and I have a Goodman split system heat pump. One unit runs the first floor and basement, while the other runs the 2nd floor. The attic furnace (heats 2nd floor) is Goodman model AR42-1.

The thermostat had been on the factory settings. Thinking that was my problem, last night I tried to play around with the settings in the advanced setup. I awoke to a VERY cold house. I just did a reset on the thermostat to get it back to the original settings.

The wiring on the both thermostats is as follows. There are orange and black wires too, but those are not hooked up.

RC/R-jumper (from factory)
R-red
W-white
Y-yellow
G-green
C-blue

Can anyone help me with the advanced settings for the thermostat or tell me what else might be wrong? Do I need to have 170 set to 7? 180 set to 0? Thanks in advance – I really need the help.


Last edited by ZMonet; 02-02-2010 at 06:50 AM.
ZMonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:18 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,786
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


Well. Its wired wrong. You need to connect the O to the orange wire.

170-7
You shouldn't have option 180 after you set 170 to 7.
190-0
210-0

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:42 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


Wow, I really did screw this up. I've included some pics.

The way the upstairs thermostat was. I apologize for the lack of focus, but the camera would not focus even on manual.



The way the wiring is right now.

Last edited by ZMonet; 02-02-2010 at 11:31 AM. Reason: adjust picture size
ZMonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 10:50 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


Beenthere -- Thanks. I don't have a 210, but that looks like it is applicable only for when you have an outside sensor. I have now hooked the downstairs thermostat as follows:

R-red
O/B-orange
Y-Yellow
G-green
C-blue
Aux-white

The orange was rolled up with the black and brown wires, so I had to unravel it and then take off some of the plastic to connect it. I set 170 to 7; 190 to 0 and 200(auxiliary heat) to 0 (electric). The furnace comes on but I don't see flames. I'm not sure how I test it to make sure everything is operating smoothly. I've about given up and called my local HVAC people, but they want around $350 ($89 for diagnostic+$120 per thermostat) to look at it.

UPDATE: The furnace wouldn't fire, so I set it back to:


R-red
O/B-white
Y-Yellow
G-green
C-blue

I also set 170 back to 1. These are the exact wires that were connected on the old thermostat. The furnace is now running on gas again.

On the upstairs unit I have the following:


R-red
O/B-orange
Y-Yellow
G-green
C-blue
Aux-white
E-black

This is now the same as what was hoked up on the old thermostat (I previously didn't have the black and orange hooked up). I see that if I raise the temp. two degrees, auxiliary mode comes on. Is this normal? I've set 170 to 7 on this unit.

Does any of this sound right or am I totally lost? I feel like the latter.

Last edited by ZMonet; 02-02-2010 at 11:27 AM.
ZMonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:49 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,786
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMonet View Post

The orange was rolled up with the black and brown wires, so I had to unravel it and then take off some of the plastic to connect it.


I set 170 to 7; 190 to 0 and 200(auxiliary heat) to 0 (electric).
Why would you do that if your have a LP furnace, and not electric?
It should be set to 1, fossil fuel.


The furnace comes on but I don't see flames. I'm not sure how I test it to make sure everything is operating smoothly. I've about given up and called my local HVAC people, but they want around $350 ($89 for diagnostic+$120 per thermostat) to look at it.

UPDATE: The furnace wouldn't fire, so I set it back to:

Good thing the furnace didn't light. Since that could damage your compressor.

You might want to see what wires are connected where at the furnace and heat pump to make sure where they should connect on the thermostat.
Most likely the orange wire to the O terminal was correct. And teh furnace not lighting is unrelated.

But your changing set up parameters to setting that WILL harm your heat pump.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 06:59 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


Since my house is heating, let me ask my question a different way. For a liquid propane system, is there any way I could incorrectly hook up the thermostat that would make it so that my heating bill would double? It went from $350/month to around $700/month.
ZMonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:33 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,786
Default

TH8320/Gas Furnace/Heat Pump - Electric Bills Have Gone Way Up


Yep.

If that black and orange were touching in the wall.
You could have had the A/C and heating running at the same time.
Also, if the furnace is set to too many cycles per hour, it will use more fuel.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well Pump Problems dannyjoe Plumbing 6 10-01-2009 06:10 PM
Sump Pump Questions henlij Plumbing 19 08-12-2009 07:50 PM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM
Better for heat pump or electric coil/strip? Lori 48616 HVAC 5 09-05-2008 02:28 PM
Electric Heat pump in New England? jzinckgra HVAC 7 05-22-2008 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.