Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 01:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

tempstar problems


I have a tempstar PA5542AK with heat strip AMMK17AHb2 that I can not get the heat srips to come in.
I get 24 volts to the sequencers and 110volts from them to the strips and through the limiters.
I checked the continuty of the strips which are good.
I checked the continuty of both sequencers with 24 volts to the coil which checked out.
I disconnected all wires from both sequencers and checked the ohms. the 2 stack was 58 ohms and the three stack was 78.

Funny thing is I can start a heat cycle with the fan unplugged and the strips will power up and run fine if i plug the fan back up before the limiters trip.

scottie9656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:39 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,213
Default

tempstar problems


You should have 220-240 volts coming into the unit ACROSS both wires and do not test each to ground. Lots of guys get fooled when they get 110 to ground which is NOT a real 220. Same thing when testing the elements. Need to have 220 across them and not test to ground. Same thing happens when testing AC contactors. If you only have 110 then one of your main fuses is blown or breaker tripped. You should draw around 18-20 amps on a 5kw element with 220/240. Will still work with 110 but produce half the heat. Lectric furnaces can be tricky to troubleshoot.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 02:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default

tempstar problems


I do have 220 volts at the elements pulling 20 amps when I get them to come on.
scottie9656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 04:01 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,213
Default

tempstar problems


If it has a small circuit board or relay interlocked with the sequencers to turn the fan on with the AC that may be acting up and causing a problem.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 04:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default

tempstar problems


Is there any way to test the circuit board? How about the test on the sequencers? I read I should not be getting more than 20 ohms thru the coils on the sequencers.
scottie9656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 05:13 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,213
Default

tempstar problems


Sounds like you are getting some sort of backfeed and more than 1 motor winding or circuit in the 24 volt loop energized . A sequencer does not need to be tested that way. It either closes or opens. Nothing more than a warp switch. Post a pic of the electrical diagram and maybe we can read it and help more.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 07:54 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default

tempstar problems


Here we go.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ac diagram .PDF (82.1 KB, 46 views)
File Type: pdf heat strips.PDF (96.8 KB, 45 views)

scottie9656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
Multiple problems in 3 year old house I just purchased swenard Plumbing 12 08-31-2009 03:53 PM
How to diagnose problems with wall kahlan General DIY Discussions 5 10-22-2008 09:18 AM
Elec short causing A/C problems or A/C problems causing elec problems? Marlon Electrical 2 06-25-2008 02:04 PM
Are you having ice problems? Grumpy Roofing/Siding 27 02-17-2008 03:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.