Tempstar Pilot Not Lighting After Draft Inducer Replacement - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 10:24 AM   #31
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
It's true no heat since Sunday. The house never got below 49 and I travel a lot so hasn't been a big deal. It's supposed to be 63 today and that is good news. It actually feels colder inside and outside.

Gents, I deal with high speed surface mount electronics hence my kindergarten comment. I still appreciate your help. The only reason I didn't call a pro is because I can get all these parts on Ebay for 1/10th of what a pro would charge me.

So please help me out man.

I checked the pressure switch with its wires plugged in and not plugged in.

With the wires plugged in:
The switch closes when the induction motor turns on and is open when the induction motor is off.

With wires pulled out:
The pressure switch is open all the time.
With all due respect I am bowing out of this thread because either one; the guy is tring to prank us. Or two, he does not follow instruction and second guesses the answers given.

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:25 AM   #32
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post

With the wires plugged in:
The switch closes when the induction motor turns on and is open when the induction motor is off.

With wires pulled out:
The pressure switch is open all the time.

Then,
Must be an electronic pressure switch
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:29 AM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,525
Rewards Points: 4,688
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
Gents, I deal with high speed surface mount electronics hence my kindergarten comment. I still appreciate your help. The only reason I didn't call a pro is because I can get all these parts on Ebay for 1/10th of what a pro would charge me and I could go without heat for a while.


Ebay, thats where I get all my high speed eletronics stuff.

And my electronics books.

Those dang electronic engineers, want to much to design things.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:30 AM   #34
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Then,
Must be an electronic pressure switch
Nope. there's a pic of the switch. Regular old diaphragm switch, not a transducer.

You can see it in the pics
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:31 AM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
With all due respect I am bowing out of this thread because either one; the guy is tring to prank us. Or two, he does not follow instruction and second guesses the answers given.
With all due respect I agree I need a new igniter, but the valve seems to be fine per the troubleshooting instructions you supplied. All eyes are on the pressure switch as ken mentioned no?

I do agree I have to upgrade to the sv9501 because of the better design, but at the moment I would love for the heat to go on.

Shorting the switch should be a good test correct?
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:32 AM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Nope. there's a pic of the switch. Regular old diaphragm switch, not a transducer.

You can see it in the pics
So you think it's still the valve?
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:34 AM   #37
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Nope. there's a pic of the switch. Regular old diaphragm switch, not a transducer.

You can see it in the pics


Just joking Like the westinghouse joke
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:34 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Bam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well what do you know....I stay home because of a world record hangover and I fix my furnace. It's a beautiful day after all.

I shorted the switch and we have heat!!!!

... and you wouldn't believe I just bought a new switch for $8 on ebay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=120326620243

Thanks so much guys. Hugs and kisses.
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:40 AM   #39
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by qbert View Post
The pressure switch is functioning ok since it closes when the inducer goes on. When the switch is closed I read 29V across it. When a switch is closed you should not read source voltage


This statment told you the switch was bad
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:08 PM   #40
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


I still think he is a troll..knew too much about the system to make those screw ups. misreading the voltage at the valve.

E
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:12 PM   #41
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
Bam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well what do you know....I stay home because of a world record hangover and I fix my furnace. It's a beautiful day after all.

I shorted the switch and we have heat!!!!

... and you wouldn't believe I just bought a new switch for $8 on ebay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=120326620243

Thanks so much guys. Hugs and kisses.

And to think, it only took five days.

My kid is an EE and a damn good one, so I KNOW you were BSing us all the thruway this post or you were drunk.

Nice combo --a drunk engineer and a gas furnace.

You are cutting out because you were found out, not because you fixed it.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 03-27-2009 at 12:15 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:34 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
..knew too much about the system
I will take that as a compliment. Check out my new signature!!!

I will admit I may have been inebriated a few times when posting.

A switch in theory is not supposed to read a voltage across it when closed....I know this, but at the same time it was confusing the hell out of me. See...if I had experience like you guys I would've shorted the switch four days ago.

It is true that you learn more on the job than in school.

Cheers....opens a beer.
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:52 PM   #43
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
I will take that as a compliment. Check out my new signature!!!

I will admit I may have been inebriated a few times when posting.

A switch in theory is not supposed to read a voltage across it when closed....I know this, but at the same time it was confusing the hell out of me. See...if I had experience like you guys I would've shorted the switch four days ago.

It is true that you learn more on the job than in school.

Cheers....opens a beer.
I can recommend a good 12 step program 'ya lush.


A drunk hvac tech burned down my mother's home with her still in it.


I won't tolerate idiots working with gas while under the influence.

Check into a Canadian 12 step program before you kill somebody.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:54 PM   #44
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


My user name is Copyrighted. Use at your own risk
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 02:21 PM   #45
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,525
Rewards Points: 4,688
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


The pressure switch is a safety device.

Buy passing it, doesn't mean its the problem.

It may have been doing its job.

If you install a new switch and it doesn't work. Your right back at step step 2.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Replacement Gas Shut Off Value with Side Port for Pilot Light - Photos Available BobN HVAC 12 03-10-2009 01:02 AM
New Rheem 90+ is making a strange noise. Draft inducer? shinkansen HVAC 1 01-09-2009 09:38 AM
Draft Inducer question hvachelp HVAC 3 06-17-2008 05:40 PM
Replacement Inducer Blower caseywa HVAC 18 11-27-2006 04:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts