Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2009, 05:30 PM   #16
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


You would not get gas at the pilot as you earlier stated were that true.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:49 PM   #17
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Might be time to call a pro.

You an engineer by any chance?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:32 PM   #18
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


sounds like it's the ignitor or the electrical portion that feeds power to the ignitor..Like hvclover said .If it were the vaccum/pressure switch you wouldn't have gotten pilot gas.....I hate those dumb valves..Over the years honeywell has made several changes to the valve ..It's still dumb
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 08:27 PM   #19
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


The pressure switch is functioning ok since it closes when the inducer goes on. When the switch is closed I read 29V across it. When a switch is closed you should not read source voltage
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 09:13 PM   #20
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


You don't read voltage across a closed switch. You read voltage across an open switch. If it's closed you can read from switch to ground
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 05:34 AM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,450
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
You don't read voltage across a closed switch. You read voltage across an open switch. If it's closed you can read from switch to ground
That seems to confuse a lot of techs also.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:22 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
You an engineer by any chance?
I am and the electronics involved in this is kindergarten stuff.

Alright so this is also confusing me...when the switch is closed I get continuity across it and also a 29v drop across it. Bad switch...I don't get it? Please someone confirm if this is a crazy switch.
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:52 AM   #23
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
I am and the electronics involved in this is kindergarten stuff.

Alright so this is also confusing me...when the switch is closed I get continuity across it and also a 29v drop across it. Bad switch...I don't get it? Please someone confirm if this is a crazy switch.
First law of electricity I learned was voltage takes the least line of resistance. In this case the closed switch is that line of least resistance, your meter the higher path. Can't have both.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 08:57 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Cool...I got it.

When I pull the wires off the switch it reads open with the induction motor on and read open with the motor off. Is it supposed to do that?
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:05 AM   #25
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
I am and the electronics involved in this is kindergarten stuff.

Alright so this is also confusing me...when the switch is closed I get continuity across it and also a 29v drop across it. Bad switch...I don't get it? Please someone confirm if this is a crazy switch.



How can you be confused ??....'' this is kindergarten stuff "

Last edited by kenmac; 03-27-2009 at 09:09 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:05 AM   #26
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdavid View Post
Cool...I got it.

When I pull the wires off the switch it reads open with the induction motor on and read open with the motor off. Is it supposed to do that?

You said this was kindergarten stuff.

I am beginning to think you are deliberately posting misleading info. The inducer would have to be running to check continuity and you did not say that the wire were disconnected. You would have blown the fuse in your meter checking that system live.

Five days no heat.

I am beginning to smell a troll.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:11 AM   #27
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
You said this was kindergarten stuff.



Must have flunked !
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:15 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


It's true no heat since Sunday. The house never got below 49 and I travel a lot so hasn't been a big deal. It's supposed to be 63 today and that is good news. It actually feels colder inside and outside.

Gents, I deal with high speed surface mount electronics hence my kindergarten comment. I still appreciate your help. The only reason I didn't call a pro is because I can get all these parts on Ebay for 1/10th of what a pro would charge me and I could go without heat for a while.

So please help me out man.

I checked the pressure switch with its wires plugged in and not plugged in.

With the wires plugged in:
The switch closes when the induction motor turns on and is open when the induction motor is off.

With wires pulled out:
The pressure switch is open all the time.

Last edited by Kdavid; 03-27-2009 at 09:17 AM.
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:15 AM   #29
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Must have flunked !
Ken you know how some pros come here as impostors just to stir up crap
and then crow about it on what ever pro site they come from.

This gent has all the ear marks of a troll. You don't goof up that many readings ...
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:22 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 24
Default

Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Ken you know how some pros come here as impostors just to stir up crap
and then crow about it on what ever pro site they come from.

This gent has all the ear marks of a troll. You don't goof up that many readings ...
Haha you got me!!!! I love the word goof.

What have I goofed up?
Kdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Replacement Gas Shut Off Value with Side Port for Pilot Light - Photos Available BobN HVAC 12 03-10-2009 12:02 AM
New Rheem 90+ is making a strange noise. Draft inducer? shinkansen HVAC 1 01-09-2009 08:38 AM
Draft Inducer question hvachelp HVAC 3 06-17-2008 04:40 PM
Replacement Inducer Blower caseywa HVAC 18 11-27-2006 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.