Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 04:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Temporary heat using gas


I've got a 1901 two story Victorian that I'm starting to remodel and upgrade to modern things like new electrical, bathrooms, kitchen, etc. , but living here in an area of calif where the mornings are 30 and my home has an old gas floor furnace (which I do not trust), and is currently disconnected, I'm trying to find a temporary solution for heating. Electricity here is expensive and gas is cheap. These old lathe plaster walls seem to keep cold air in during winter and hot air in during the summer.

By spring I should be done with major work and will be putting in a high velocity mini duct system throughout the home.

butterkups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Temporary heat using gas


strict codes here for using gas furnaces as temporary heat.... we do it all the time for new housing..... you codes may be different.....

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:33 PM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,488
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

Temporary heat using gas


Hey....those old floor heaters are pretty tough and reliable....not a whole lot to go wrong. As long as the gas manifold is not cracked, it's clean in there and your exhaust flue pipe is intact.....crank her up. Mine was over 50 years old when I took it out....the only reason for removing it was because we had a new baby and the bedroom was cold....have to love forced air heating.,....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: zentral Iowa
Posts: 1,234
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Temporary heat using gas


Just crank up a kitchen range.
cleveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Temporary heat using gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by cleveman
Just crank up a kitchen range.
Don't do that with a gas range, though. Or electric, if you're paying the bill. When I was younger, living in a basement suite, my landlord would turn my electric baseboard heat off, but would always blame it on his two-year-old (can two-year-olds reach a 5' high thermostat, with no chairs, tables or ladders around? It was in his foyer, not in my suite). Sick of his BS, I started to heat my suite with the electric range. When it got too hot, I'd just open a window. The electric meter spun like a top.

Last edited by hvac benny; 01-08-2013 at 10:01 PM.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump infoskr HVAC 34 11-20-2013 04:24 PM
dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane sweetfarm HVAC 3 10-11-2012 08:07 AM
Heat Pump will not cut off sunliner HVAC 13 05-17-2011 05:38 AM
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 08:34 PM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.