Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 09:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tempermental ignition - furnace


Hi,

i have a furnace that is about 16 yrs. old. Recently it will come on and blow cold air. If you turn the swich for power off momentarily, and then
turn it back on ,the burner ignites and it cycles fine.

it will go for a day or so working fine. then the same thing happens. i've replaced the batteries in thermostat, and run it on program . it works fine in either mode until it missfires



thanks,

T-bone

T-bone59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

tempermental ignition - furnace


Next time it stops working, before turning power off. Look for a flashing ED light through the blower panel sight glass. Then look for the legend on the back of that panel.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tempermental ignition - furnace


ED?
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:04 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tempermental ignition - furnace


furnace is not that new, does not have LED lights or control board
T-bone59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:13 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Rewards Points: 2,752
Default

tempermental ignition - furnace


brand and model # will help.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:11 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tempermental ignition - furnace


it says General Heating Equipment, built in York . does this meea n its manufactured by same Co that makes York furnaces ?? Im not home so i cant get model# right now

T-bone59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Electronic ignition furnace question rcossebo HVAC 4 11-23-2008 02:02 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
Electronic Ignition Furnace will not stay burning Drennen HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.