Temp Rise In Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2014, 09:43 PM   #1
Member
 
chitownken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Will county, Illinois
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 370
Default

Temp rise in furnace


I have a Ducane 95G2UHV90 2 stage furnace. The temp rise ratings are 30 - 60 (low fire) and 45 - 75 (high fire). I measures them and I am at the low end in both ranges. 30 degrees on low fire and 44 degrees on high fire. Is this acceptable, or should I back the blower off a bit to get the temps up? I clocked the meter on low fire and it is dead on with what is in the manual.

Is there an advantage / disadvantage to being on the low end of the team rise?

Advertisement

chitownken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 10:21 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Temp rise in furnace


You want to be in the middle. If it is too low it can condense water in the primary heat exchanger and damage it. Should have dip switch settings on the board as it is a V drive ECM motor.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 10:41 PM   #3
Member
 
chitownken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Will county, Illinois
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 370
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Thanks, Yuri. It has jumpers on the board to set the fan speed. Will move to the next speed down and see what the temp rise is. Thanks a bunch.
chitownken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2014, 11:23 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Yur Welcome. Nice furnace.

Use a Merv 10 filter to keep the secondary coil etc nice and clean. Then check the temp rise.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-24-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 12:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 174
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Quote:
I measures them and I am at the low end in both ranges. 30 degrees on low fire and 44 degrees on high fire. Is this acceptable, or should I back the blower off a bit to get the temps up?
The better 2-stage ecm furnaces (carrier/lennox/york/trane/goodman etc) come setup to maintain the same temp rise on high and low.

30 on low fire is too low and you should reduce the speed.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 05:20 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Doesn't sound like your blower is running in its first sage heat speed. Do you have your fan set to run 24/7?
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 07:26 PM   #7
Member
 
chitownken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Will county, Illinois
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 370
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Beenthere,
Have a Honeywell stat set on circulate so fan does not run 24/7. It does ramp up the fan when it goes to high fire, I just think the installer set the jumpers too high. I set it back to what the manual shows as the factory default and now I get 43 degrees rise on low fire. Did not feel like jacking the stat to get it to go into high fire. Not cold enough to get it to go into high fire except in the morning when it comes back from night time setback. And that's pre-coffee so any measurements taken then would be suspect.

Yuri,
Have the 3M 1900 pleated filter. Not sure what the Merv rating is on those. Change monthly.

User_12345a,
Lennox makes Ducane, but board might be different. Runs on low fire most of the time unless Yuri sends that Canadian air our way.

Thanks, guys.
chitownken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 07:54 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,121
Rewards Points: 880
Default

Temp rise in furnace


2-3 years ago they made Ducane/AirFlo/Armstrong furnaces identical to the Lennox as they bought Allied Air. Except for the high end mod SLP. Before that Ducane had it's own board etc.

There is some way to cross ref those 3M to Merv but you have to dig on the net for 1/2 an hour to find that site. Google works different than BING so try both.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 08:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 174
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Low heat speed is nearly the same has high heat Ducane/AirFlo/Armstrong models.

I think it's to differentiate products and charge a premium for something with a lennox sticker on it.

Carrier puts crappy firmware on the ICP furnaces too; the variable speed models don't maintain airflow as the static pressure increases.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 08:55 PM   #10
Member
 
chitownken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Will county, Illinois
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 370
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Turns out they are Merv 12 filters
http://www.iallergy.com/filtrete-air...comparison.php

Furnace was 2 years old this September. Replaced an oversized York 80% unit. Really like the 2 stage heat and 2 stage cool. Saving a bunch on gas and electric and the house is more comfortable.

Last edited by chitownken; 11-25-2014 at 08:56 PM. Reason: fixed typo
chitownken is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chitownken For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 09:09 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 158
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by chitownken View Post
I have a Ducane 95G2UHV90 2 stage furnace. The temp rise ratings are 30 - 60 (low fire) and 45 - 75 (high fire). I measures them and I am at the low end in both ranges. 30 degrees on low fire and 44 degrees on high fire. Is this acceptable
Where are you measuring the temperature rise at. Measure the temp as soon as the heated air enters the plenum of the furnace. Do not take your heated air measurement at the register to calculate temp rise
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to collegetry For This Useful Post:
Chris130 (11-25-2014)
Old 11-25-2014, 09:46 PM   #12
Member
 
chitownken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Will county, Illinois
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 370
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Measuring return temp about 2 inch before the filter where all the returns come together. Measuring supply temp about 1 1/2 inches above the A-coil in the supply plenum before any of the duct runs branch off. Temp probes go in about 4 inches or so and do not contact anything. Let it run for a few minutes to stabilize the temps.
chitownken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 11:18 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by chitownken View Post
Measuring return temp about 2 inch before the filter where all the returns come together. Measuring supply temp about 1 1/2 inches above the A-coil in the supply plenum before any of the duct runs branch off. Temp probes go in about 4 inches or so and do not contact anything. Let it run for a few minutes to stabilize the temps.
I did almost the exact same as you last year to check mine. I used a "dual probe thermometer"

Note: in the first picture I have the leads incorrectly labeled as the probes.
Attached Thumbnails
Temp rise in furnace-100_7617.jpg   Temp rise in furnace-100_7618.jpg   Temp rise in furnace-100_7623.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 05:27 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Temp rise in furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by chitownken View Post
Measuring return temp about 2 inch before the filter where all the returns come together. Measuring supply temp about 1 1/2 inches above the A-coil in the supply plenum before any of the duct runs branch off. Temp probes go in about 4 inches or so and do not contact anything. Let it run for a few minutes to stabilize the temps.
Best to have your supply probe in the supply trunk, about 1 foot in. That way the sensor is not effected by radiant heat. And the air has a chance to completely mix.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.

Last edited by beenthere; 11-26-2014 at 06:23 AM. Reason: Spelling
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 11:34 AM
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 08:01 AM
Furnace inducer motor always running, even temp reached Ballastar HVAC 2 10-08-2010 04:54 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts