Temp Lockout For Heatpump - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2015, 06:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


I have installed my own Hybrid HVAC system. I have a 4.5 ton heatpump with a propane furnace backup. My system works extremely well except when my thermostat calls for backup heat (propane) the outside unit continues to run when the propane is burning. I feel like this is a waste of electricity so what I need is someone to steer me in the right direction of where to purchase or how to install an external stat or temp relay that will lockout my outside unit when the outside temp dips below 30 degrees or so. Thanks

Advertisement

Raven2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:08 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,995
Rewards Points: 5,598
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


Unless your heat pump is a geo(which wouldn't have an outdoor unit). They don't come in a 4.5 ton size.

What thermostat do you have? Post brand and full model number.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 07:33 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


It's a BGE peak rewards thermostat from the utility. But it is a Honeywell T2060F
Raven2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 08:36 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,995
Rewards Points: 5,598
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


Looks like its installer set up is crippled from the factory.

A Bill Porter dual fuel control will work.

http://www.theheatpumpmadeeasy.com/
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 10:43 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,438
Rewards Points: 1,996
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven2014 View Post
It's a BGE peak rewards thermostat from the utility. But it is a Honeywell T2060F
That's a custom thermostat designed with specs supplied by your utility company and therefore its advanced settings are locked out.

You need to buy a new thermostat so you have access to the advanced settings (compressor lock out temp for one)
Bob Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 11:13 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,995
Rewards Points: 5,598
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


Bill Porter board is cheaper then a new stat, and works well.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,680
Rewards Points: 1,716
Default

Temp lockout for heatpump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven2014 View Post
I have installed my own Hybrid HVAC system. I have a 4.5 ton heatpump with a propane furnace backup. My system works extremely well except when my thermostat calls for backup heat (propane) the outside unit continues to run when the propane is burning. I feel like this is a waste of electricity so what I need is someone to steer me in the right direction of where to purchase or how to install an external stat or temp relay that will lockout my outside unit when the outside temp dips below 30 degrees or so. Thanks
I think you may be surprised at how much your heat pump will help at 30 degrees if it's working properly. If you go through with this change you might want to experiment with a setting around the 15-20 degree range.

Advertisement

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
set lockout temp for HP w/carrier tstatcctrh01-B lagotz HVAC 0 01-31-2013 08:02 PM
hi temp boiler cutoff jmon HVAC 20 12-05-2012 09:01 PM
Peerless oil furnace - keeps turning on when temp exceeds target temp eugenet1979 HVAC 0 12-22-2011 09:30 PM
Infinty 19 Hybrid System-Furnace lockout aonorat HVAC 4 11-03-2010 12:14 PM
AC Temp drop over plenum run length BlueBSH HVAC 23 06-22-2010 09:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts