Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 07:45 PM   #31
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Share |
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


Ok.

The switch at the stairs is just providing a switch path most likely. probably has no nuetral, which is a common way to wire the switch.

Something feed 120 volts to the boiler panel, and then was wired to the switch. You need that wire back in the boiler panel. So its wired similar to the original pics you posted.

You can run a 120 volt from the 503 to the boiler. It should be from the same wire that feed power to the 503, not off any zone.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:49 PM   #32
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


if you look at the current pics you see in the control panel all those 120vac wires are slaved together with wire nuts - that's the romex cable you see there laying on the floor. It went from the bolier control box to zone1 on 503 switch.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:57 PM   #33
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


ok, then can I run a 120vac line from main pwr on 503 switch to where that romex wire on the floor is connected to? There is a jumpper on the last 120vac on 503 switch - should I use that one or just add it to the current main pwr which is powering the 503 now.? I believe you can stick two romex cables in those slots.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:03 PM   #34
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


or I can put in a junction box slave them together and use it to power up 503 and then run one right to the boiler. Or I can just use the 503 switch as sort of a junction box also.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:09 PM   #35
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


also just to let you know - I haven't touched anything inside the bolier control box yet. That mess of wires hasn't been touched yet. But I will have to trace that romex cable laying on the floor at some point so I can put that 120vac line coming from the 503 switch to get 120vac back to the bolier so it will fire.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:29 PM   #36
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


I think I got it now. I was reading the 503 instruction sheet. I'm almost there - I think. There is one thing I forgot to do. And it is very important. The 120vac isolated end switch the one with the jumper on it, has to be connected to the aqustat control on the boiler. It says the jumper should be placed between terminals zc and zr which it is already from factory. I am using cold start boiler application as opposed to tankless coil boiler (see instruction sheet). My question is the terminals are jumped which means they will be both hot. How do I connect that to the control panel on boiler? When it comes from the 503 switch both black and white wires will be hot. Do I still hook it up on the bolier as black to black white to white? Or do I remove that jumper on the 503 switch. The instructions don't say.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:39 PM   #37
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


Link to Instruction Sheet here. (PDF)

please look at instruction sheet and tell me what you think? Do I remove that jumper or leave it there? The instructions say leave it there. Don't want to fry any electrical parts. So the romex going into the boiler control panel both wires will be hot. I didn't think you could hook things up that way. thanks for looking. I assume I will be using the cold start bolier app as opposed to the tankless coil bolier alternate wiring.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 04:23 AM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


The ZC and ZR are not for powering the boiler. So keep that jumper there. Put the wires to power the boiler on the same 120 volt terminals that power the 503 itself. The isolated end switch, which is low voltage tells the boiler when to run.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:11 AM   #39
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


ok. thanks I'm glad I chedcked with you first. When I took a reading at the end switch with the jumper on it said 0. When I took a reading on the terminal you just said it reads 120vac. I will put that where the current romex wire laying on the floor goes. That's how the bolier must of got its power to fire. It fact I think that current romex wire laying on the floor is long to reach the 503. I'll just use it. ok , today i will concentrate on getting 120vac to the bolier. So while im in the boiler control panel, would you reccommend removing that metal romex coax cable that went to zone 1 circulator? It the pictures its that metal romex sticking up. Then I can run the 120vac coming from the 503 swtich through there . It would give a little more room there. It would elminate some of that wire congestion. thanks, i'll let you know how things work out.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:41 AM   #40
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


ok. Anther question? I'm in the control panel on boiler. No problem with 120vac I connected just like the old romex that was threre. That is the one if you look in pics has the black and white wire together. That must be how the switch at the top of the stairs shuts everthything off. Ok while tracing the old metal romex connector you see sticking up. The black wire is connected directly to the top right terminal of the pump relay - that brown thing in the pics just above the transformer it says spdt (single pole double throw) on it . What do I do here? I don't want to leave that wire sticking up like that. Can I disconnect that? In oher words take that whole metal coax romex out? Or do I need this for the boiler to fire or pump to work? It's not connected to anything cause I wired that pump right to the 503. I already know all the pumps work the bolier just doen't fire. I belive the 503 should take control of everything now. If I don't need that - I would like to remove it. I don't want to remove the relay switch i can just cap that one wire off and leave it. Then i would be able to get rid of that ugly metal romex coax looking thing. I will wait and see if the boler fires and wait further guidance from you. thanks

Last edited by jmon; 11-11-2012 at 06:31 PM.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:58 AM   #41
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


great news! everything works correctly. Bolier fires, each zone works independly, and the kill switch at the top of the stairs works. Thanks so much for your help. Final thoughts I would like to clean that control panel on the bolier up a little bit. I really don't like that metal romex connector sticking up like that and obviously It's not needed now - everything works fine. Can I put the romex wire there and get rid of that metal thing sticking out of the control box? It would look a lot more professional. Thanks.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:59 AM   #42
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


great news! everything works correctly. Bolier fires, each zone works independly, and the kill switch at the top of the stairs works. Thanks so much for your help. Final thoughts I would like to clean that control panel on the bolier up a little bit. I really don't like that metal romex connector sticking up like that and obviously It's not needed now - everything works fine. Can I put the romex wire there and get rid of that metal thing sticking out of the control box? It would look a lot more professional. Thanks. I'll send new pics when it is all done so you can see it.

Last edited by jmon; 11-11-2012 at 06:36 PM.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:07 AM   #43
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,032
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


Yes, you can move the romex to there.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
jmon (11-12-2012)
Old 11-12-2012, 08:52 AM   #44
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


ok, I will remove that metal romex and stick the regular romex cable through there - that will make it look a lot better and get rid of some of that wire clutter. thanks
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:42 AM   #45
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,492
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


when I remove that black and whit wire from the metal coax romex zone 2 upstairs does not fire and circulator does not run and no red led light on 503 switch. Somehow those wires need to be connected somewhere. I don't understand because they where just stciking out not connected to anything they were going to the zone circulator which is wired to the 503 now. . I put the black wire back on the terminal of the pump relay still nothing the white wire was wiring nuted to another white wire. i'll try and put it back the way it was. and just cap those wires. ant suggestions?

jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.