Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 12:02 PM   #16
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


ok guys,
I hooked everything to 503 switch all termostats and both circulators go right into the 503 swtich now. Turned on power, 503 green led came on each zone led light works independly, Both circulators work. One big problem now. Neither of them fires up the boiler. Bolier does not fire but everthing else seems to work fine. any suggestions here at this point.. I have the metal coax capped off right now. along with that other 120vac line you saw in the picture. I did not remove anything from the control box yet. Either That metal coax that came off the circulator or that 120vac line is important. I will have to open the control box latter and trace them out see where they go. Any suggestions, boy this has been a stumper. I can always just hook it back up the way it was. But now the 503 switch works great just doesn't fire up bolier at this point. Switch at top of the stairs is on, all power is on, thermostats are on - can't figure it out. thanks

jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:22 PM   #17
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


checked the 120 line and circulator metal coax lines. Both lines show no power according to my multimeter. How was this bolier even firing?
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:30 PM   #18
Thread killer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 300
Rewards Points: 260
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


Run the power line from your furnace switch to the boiler. Run a wire from the 503 supply to the same spot on the boiler. Take the black wires and tie them together with one wire on the relay on the boiler. Take the whites and the other wire on the boiler relay and tie them together. Now when you shut the switch off, it cuts power to your boiler and the 503. When its on the boiler and the 503 are powered. You have the lines running from the 503 to the circulators, this is good. Now run a wire from the end switch on the 503 to the boiler control wiring. When this is done, when a room thermostat calls for heat, it starts the circulator and closes the end switch on the 503, which signals the boiler relay to do its job and fire the boiler. I think you've accidentally eliminated the power to the boiler and you still need it. When the 503 is signalling the boiler to start, it looks like it has no power to do that, but the circulators are powered, thats why they're running.
__________________
You can have it good, fast or cheap. Pick two.

Last edited by Canucker; 11-10-2012 at 02:32 PM. Reason: spelling
Canucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 03:23 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


The 2 romex wires that were ran to the boiler, are both needed. one is the power to the boiler, the other is the switch leg. thats why you saw a black wie and white wire, wire nutted together.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:17 PM   #20
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


ok just want to make sure I understand. The furnace switch wire is already there in the control panel on bolier. So thats' taken care of. run another 120vac wire from the 503 switch supply to same spot on boiler. Ok question here - the only 120vac lines I have left on the 503 switch are the end one which is jumpered and zone 3 which I am not using. Do I remove that jumper and wire the 120vac line there - then run it to the same spot on the boiler where the furnace switch is? then tie all the wires together as you mentioned. just wanted to make sure i understand where to wire all 120vac lines. that should take care of the 120vac side.

After that you say to run a wire from the end switch on 503 to the boiler control wiring I assume you are talking about the 24vac lines here the thermostats. Is that correct? The end switch is marked XX. there is already a line from the end switch XX on 503 switch to the red and white terminals of the bolier control panel. So that is done. Right? All I have to do is the 120vac side.

I still have the metal coax and that 1 120vac line that are disconnected now. Do I need them or can they be removed? I am sorry just want to make sure I understand everything. thanks
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:25 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


Post pic of the wires that are currently in the boiler control box.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:51 PM   #22
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


More pictures here.

In picture #2,
can that wires be removed ?

In picture #5,
is a picture of the thermostat terminal on the control panel coming from the end switch xx on the 503
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:12 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


The romex that is laying on the floor. that should have been the 120 volt feed line. What did you disconnect it from.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:14 PM   #24
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


I am assuming you want me to remove the power line that is coming from the house electrical box that is currently friing up the 503 switch. That power line and the furnace switch power line are hooked up to a standby automactic generator in case of power failure so we can still have heat. It doesn't change anything - just wanted to let you know. You want me to replace it with one coming from furnace switch in bolier control panel. that way you can kill the boiler and 503 switch with one throw of the furnace switch at the top of the stairs. right now the 503 switch has it's own power and the bolier has it's own power. I really don't mind that - I just want the bolier to fire at this point. If I have to do that I will. It seems to me the 503 is lacking something to tell the bolier relay to fire the boiler. i'm still trying to get it straight in my head first before I attempt anything. Just looking for the quickess way to fire up boiler for now to get some heat. thanks.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:17 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


The end switch is what is suppose to tell the boiler to fire.

Does the boiler have 120 volt now.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:19 PM   #26
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


that was disconnected from the 503 switch zone 1 circulator
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:23 PM   #27
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


when you say end switch you are talking about the thermostat wire coming from 503. I took a reading with my multimeter the romex laying on the floor and the romex metal coax have no power readings
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:28 PM   #28
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


even with thermostat on that romex on the floor and metal romex coax cable have no power. The circulator is running - but bolier is not firing. So i ssume the bolier has no 120vac at this time.
jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:36 PM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


That romex on the floor came from the 503? Or did it come from a junction box.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:40 PM   #30
Retired Army Veteran
 
jmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,584
Rewards Points: 1,090
Default

taco sr503-4 switch


it was coming out of the bolier control panel and was connected to zone 1 on the 503 switch. I did that when you said to wire the circulator directly to the 503 first. originally It was wire directly to the boiler first then went to the 503.

jmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.