Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2009, 09:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

t stat wiring problem


My furnace (gas) has C G Y W R
for controls.

Stat itself (digital) has Y RC RH (jumper in place on rh an rc) W G C H2 H1

what I would like to do is use the "cool" function of the thermostat to strictly start the blower. I have no "cooling" in place, I just would like to run the blower on the t-stats "cool" cycle to help circulate the air.


any input?

thanks in advance.

Tin


Last edited by Tinman_iii; 06-01-2009 at 10:07 PM.
Tinman_iii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:12 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default

t stat wiring problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinman_iii View Post
My furnace (gas) has C G Y W R
for controls.

Stat itself (digital) has Y RC RH (jumper in place on rh an rc) W G C H2 H1

what I would like to do is use the "cool" function of the thermostat to strictly start the blower. I have no "cooling" in place, I just would like to run the blower on the t-stats "cool" cycle to help circulate the air.

another question, on the furnace circuit board, what two control leads do I "jump" to start the blower?

any input?

thanks in advance.

Tin
If I'm understanding you correctly, you shouldn't have to do anything. On any call, cool or heat, the thermostat should put 24 volts on the G wire, this is the wire to the furnace that turns on the fan.

Just hook your 5 wires to the same terminals on the new thermostat. R goes to both RC and RH on the stat.

Jumping R and G at the furnace should turn on the fan.

jstjohnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 07:09 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

t stat wiring problem


Most thermostat will energize both Y and G when calling for cooling, so you should not need to do anything other than verify your G thermostat wire runs to the air handler's G terminal.

Let us know if that doesn't work, and please post make and model of thermostat.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 07:20 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

t stat wiring problem


if you set cool with the fan in auto setting the fan will cycle with the setting of the temperature on the stat the lower you set it the longer it will run due to no evap section and condenser.take a bucket of ice and slide it into the return up from the filter for some minimal cooling of that return air
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

t stat wiring problem


I did get the blower to run.
Thank you.
I need to understand for myself, so I will learn more.
I am very thankful for the help. I will now try and learn more of what's going on, and don't be surprised if I come back with some questions.
thanks again.
Tinman_iii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Outdoor AC on whenever heat is on - wiring problem? SammyLi HVAC 3 10-12-2008 12:29 PM
Help with serious flooding problem MNUZZI Landscaping & Lawn Care 12 10-03-2008 02:46 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM
A/C Thermostat Problem therumblefish HVAC 7 11-01-2006 08:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.