System Doesn't Have A Place For A Filter - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 11:37 AM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

System doesn't have a place for a filter

I have a Goodman GMS81155CNA furnace configured for upflow. The return ductwork in in the crawlspace. Each room has a small baseboard return grill.

When we bought the house, I went hunting for the filter. It was placed in the bottom of the blower compartment The filter, 20x25, fits the opening perfectly. However, there is nothing to hold it in place. When the fan is running, it lifts the filter up several inches up against the blower assembly. Air flows around the filter, defeating its purpose.

I've searched and can't find a solution. Is there some type of pre-fab filter rack that can be installed in the bottom of the furnace? Do I need to fabricate one myself? Or do I need to remove the entire unit and install an external filter rack on the floor under the furnace?


spencerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:13 PM   #2
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 196

You could have somesort of retaining tracks made up to hold filter in place, or just go get a piece of 1/8 in metal rod and cut it a so it reaches from the back to the front of blower compartment.You can make one and put it down the center under blower or two and put one on each side.I have even used a piece of 2 x 4 going across filter.And no it doesnt get hot or else the filter made of cardboard would be a problem.Cut metal rod slightly longer so they will wedge them selfs in.


HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:51 PM   #3
SuperJETT's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 196
Rewards Points: 152

It probably takes a 4" or 5" filter. Measure the thickness and see if it matches up.
SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #4
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 550

make a few rails and screw them in....not very hard
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:59 AM   #5
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,164

Th rails are the way to go and you can also install long springs from side to side to hold it in place. Make sure you follow the flow arrows on the filter it's important.
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Figuring Out Proper Filtration Setup HiccaBurp Plumbing 8 05-08-2012 01:28 PM
Filtering Fresh Air System? Ralph III HVAC 9 05-05-2012 11:48 PM
In-Floor Swimming Pool Cleaning System Silkcityflorida Plumbing 0 03-22-2012 11:21 AM
A strange one - polybutelene piping used in radiant heating system GordCooper Plumbing 4 03-13-2012 10:09 PM
Is 1/2 Pex more restrictive than 1/2 copper? twilightcall Plumbing 19 06-24-2008 07:32 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1