Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2008, 02:42 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

System change questions


If you are considering ac have them put the evap. coil in now and save the rest for later. they will have to re-do the supply plenum next year and will be happy to charge you twice for doing the work twice but you could save a couple hundred next year by just having them pop the coil on now.

ps Sorry about that whole thread there with my friend

geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 05:56 PM   #17
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


No problem about the post. Totally understand.

Working out the details with my father-in-law, who will be purchasing the equipment.
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 11:00 AM   #18
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


Well, I placed the order and the Furnace and Wh should arrive on Saturday.

Sort of excited. I can not wait to get rid of that old furnace! Oh and to have filtration!! Wow, actually feeling antsy about it all!!!
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 09:16 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


I think you've made a good decision by going with just the forced air furnace. If you are considering A/C you should consider a dual fuel setup: heat pump with your furnace and a two stage t stat. Even in your climate and the high NY electric rate, the btu cost will be less than even gas on the mild heating days. The added cost of the HP outdoor unit over just the A/C outdoor unit will pay for itself with heating savings.

I don't wish to take sides but I must side with hvactech on the hw heater recommendation. I have many friends and family with all three: tank-less, direct vent tank, and normal vent. Unless you have some unique requirements, I'd recommend going with the a normally vented tanks with the smallest size for your needs and has the thickest insulation and built in heat traps. The repair cost due to complexity, the initial cost of tank less and direct vented, and any plumbing upgrades, tend to swamp any energy savings. If however, someone else is paying all or most to install and maintain, and you can verify actual operating cost savings, then go for it.

Last edited by dac122; 09-10-2008 at 09:27 AM.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 07:06 AM   #20
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


I have been considering different options for the WH, and have elected to the route of the tankless. I think that if I was hiring a contractor to supply and install it, I would think otherwise, but since it is being purchased through my father-in-law (Plumber) and installed by him, it makes sense.
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 07:48 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by javan View Post
I have been considering different options for the WH, and have elected to the route of the tankless. I think that if I was hiring a contractor to supply and install it, I would think otherwise, but since it is being purchased through my father-in-law (Plumber) and installed by him, it makes sense.
You luck dog. Then I am officially jealous.

Since your inital cost, and I'm guessing maintenance is all taken care of, go for it! Enjoy the long hot showers and lower operating costs
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 10:36 AM   #22
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


Yep, that's me! Oh so lucky...

Where in Upstate NY are you located?
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 10:44 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


Southeast of you. Think Orange or the Salt City
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 09:24 AM   #24
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


Started the demo last night.

Wow, what a filthy mess! On the positive side, at least the SA duct was cleaner than the RA. When we moved into the house, I was looking for the filter bank on the unit and did not find one. When I removed the access panel to the fan, sure enough, there were the filters! Appear to have been there for several years!

I can not believe the size difference in the old unit and the new unit!

Old: 24" x 60" x 48" High 250 lbs or more
New:21" x 30" x 40" High 164 lbs.
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 10:04 AM   #25
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


I hope to post a pic or two soon...

The furnace is located in the basement and the SA duct is connected, although I am also "re-ducting" part of it to get away from a nasty headknocker. Currently I have the furnace up on a wooden pedestle of about 5". I see nothing in the installation manual that restricts the use of a combustable material, but I may change out to brick or metal later. Wood is what was on-hand.

The RA is a different story. I had purchased the optional SA plenum (20x20x36H) thinking that new would be better, but honestly, the old plenum worked fine, and it already had the connection for the wood stove. Now on to the RA, I am going to use the new plenum and the old RA plenum together to make it work.

Starting to figure out the best way to run the gas to the furnace. Was hoping to do it all with copper, but may just continue the iron pipe as far as the unit. It would be easy, just about 15' from the existing gas inlet from the meter (line comes into the house to a tee, with one end plugged, the 2nd going to the WH). I intend to just extend that 1" all the way to the furnace, then reduce down for the furnace connection, since it is so close.

The vent for the furnace will be 2" pvc and is to be easily routed outsdie, just need to drill a hole through the wall. The furnace will be aspirated normally, since the basement is wide open. Granted, if we ever change the use of the basement, we will pipe the air inlet to the outdoors.

We are also replacing the WH with an instantaneous model, but had to send it back since what came in was for LP, not NG. I was looking at the vent kit that comes with that, and I am surprised at how large a hole I need to cut into the wall (thinking it is about 4.5").
javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 11:29 AM   #26
Another DIY Zombie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Champlain, NY (NY, VT, QC Border)
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 0
Default

System change questions


So, I have the SA plenum from the old furnace installed, along with the 1st section of duct. Need to fab and install the RA plenum. Started last night. Was able to get the filter rack installed. Nightime temps here are dropping. Can not wait to get this thing fired up and see how it performs!!

javan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Purification System - Maintenance Qs cjcocn Plumbing 1 11-18-2008 07:31 AM
boiler / Over-pressurizing cparke HVAC 1 05-21-2008 05:54 AM
Drip System Questions Justin Case Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 10-22-2007 11:16 PM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 07:22 PM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.