Switch Over Temp - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2007, 07:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Switch over temp


I have a Trane heat pump with gas backup and was wandering how to tell if system has this feature or how can I tell what it is set at. Now all I know to do is to set thermostat to Emergency heat if I want gas to come on I thought the installer told me that the if the temp is greater than 2 degrees it will kick over to gas until temp is made up and heat pump comes back on, but it sounds more efficient if gas would come on at say 32 degrees ir so. The furnace I have is a XL 90 propane furnace and xli 14 heatpump. Where would on system to find this setting. Any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement

walker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 07:53 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Switch over temp


Hi walker45

Not sure what control or thermostat your system is using. Carrier has a thermostat that is called a thermidistat that you can set you changeover temp in. The other method of doing this is with an outdoor stat mounted in the heat pump. Either way it will be more energy efficient to run the heat pump at least down to 35 deg. The only one thing you dont want to ever happen, is the gas furnce coming on at the same time as the heat pump. To find all this out you will need to check with the installing company to see what type your system is.

Good luck
Rusty

Advertisement

#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 10:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Switch over temp


Quote:
Originally Posted by walker45 View Post
I have a Trane heat pump with gas backup and was wandering how to tell if system has this feature or how can I tell what it is set at. Now all I know to do is to set thermostat to Emergency heat if I want gas to come on I thought the installer told me that the if the temp is greater than 2 degrees it will kick over to gas until temp is made up and heat pump comes back on, but it sounds more efficient if gas would come on at say 32 degrees ir so. The furnace I have is a XL 90 propane furnace and xli 14 heatpump. Where would on system to find this setting. Any help would be appreciated.
There is a "outdoor thermosstat" located in , were else ? the out door unit, it can be set from -40 to 80 degress
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 10:34 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Help a hungover guy clear his head. 3 way switch with pic J187 Electrical 10 11-10-2006 09:10 PM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 04:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts