Swapping An Ecm Motor For A Psc Motor - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2012, 05:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Question

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


Hi,
I have a tempstar PAM330K00A1 and the blower motor has gone bad twice in
two years. The unit is no longer in warranty and the x13 motor in it is a 469.00
part. That is too expensive to replace every two years. My question is can
i replace the x13 blower motor model # 5SME39hxL163 with a psc motor
which is far cheaper. I'm not sure if the circuit board is compatible. The
model of the circuit board is:Tempstar circuit board

What would I have to do in order for this to happen?
Thanks

Advertisement

hazeleye65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:02 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


You will more than likely pay the difference in cost of operating a pcm every two years in your electrical bill compared to buying another x13, they are that much more efficient.

How long did the original motor last? I've installed dozens of furnaces with them in and they're still running.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
hazeleye65 (11-12-2012)
Old 11-11-2012, 06:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 202
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


is the motor over amping? if duct not getting the correct static pressure
the motor will run all out to try to keep static. you cant run open duct with ECM motors. is it the motor or the module that goes out? ECM motors
will sense how much air is moving by the resistance of static pressure and adjust when needed.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 202
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


is the motor over amping? if duct not getting the correct static pressure
the motor will run all out to try to keep static. you cant run open duct with ECM motors. is it the motor or the module that goes out? ECM motors
will sense how much air is moving by the resistance of static pressure and adjust when needed.
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:17 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


It is not an ecm motor.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:30 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


And only the original X13 made by Regal-Beloit (GE) is an X13. Many others utilize the same brushless technology similar in fashion to that of a true 2.3 ecm but only the GE brand is a true X13.

Called the X13 to meet the minimum mandated seer rating of, yup, 13.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 242
Rewards Points: 202
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


opps my bad, read it wrong.
i would put the x13 in again. might have just got a dud
the last time around. if it goes again then need to check everything.
i would still due an amp check.
did it burn out or bushings go bad?
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:23 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac instructor View Post
is the motor over amping? if duct not getting the correct static pressure
the motor will run all out to try to keep static. you cant run open duct with ECM motors. is it the motor or the module that goes out? ECM motors
will sense how much air is moving by the resistance of static pressure and adjust when needed.

How do I know if the motor is over amping? and what is open duct? I live in a
mobil home with duct work running under neath the outside unit is a combo air handler and compressor that was installed in 2006-2007.
hazeleye65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:26 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
You will more than likely pay the difference in cost of operating a pcm every two years in your electrical bill compared to buying another x13, they are that much more efficient.

How long did the original motor last? I've installed dozens of furnaces with them in and they're still running.

The original Unit was installed in 2006-2007 and the original motor was replaced in 2010. My sister just had a new unit installed 2 yrs ago and her
ecm motor went out too. I've been reading where these x13 motors are Sh*t.
and they are having alot of problems. Some say moisture build up fries the motor. Being in Florida we have alot of moisture.
hazeleye65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:54 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


The mobile home duct is the issue. Those motors want a maximum static pressure of .6" and a mobile home static runs 1" or slightly higher. Some furnace boards will work with a psc motor and some will not, don't know about yours.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:30 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
The mobile home duct is the issue. Those motors want a maximum static pressure of .6" and a mobile home static runs 1" or slightly higher. Some furnace boards will work with a psc motor and some will not, don't know about yours.
So that means that any home owner replacing their ac unit would have to replace the duct work as well or face blower motor failure. Because all of
the new units are equipped with ecm motors. Also the size of the duct work is the same size as a standard home. I'm at a loss understanding the static pressure.

Last edited by hazeleye65; 11-12-2012 at 09:34 AM. Reason: add more info
hazeleye65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:21 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 453
Rewards Points: 252
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


Read this older thread and maybe a solution:

variable speed trane blower motor

It might be a simple board component that can be replaced with a soldering iron. You can check it for the telltale burned/melted disk.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 03:05 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

swapping an ecm motor for a psc motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyorpay View Post
Read this older thread and maybe a solution:

variable speed trane blower motor

It might be a simple board component that can be replaced with a soldering iron. You can check it for the telltale burned/melted disk.
I would love nothing better than to replace a component on the board however the module circuit board is encased in rubber. If any one has a way to get the circuit board out, I would be willing to try that route.http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-GENTEQ-3...item2a242c4dbe

Advertisement

hazeleye65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace condensor fan motor? twags HVAC 43 07-22-2013 09:09 PM
Please HELP wiring 240v motor for forward and reverse on boat lift mikeyce Electrical 6 10-16-2012 02:27 AM
Old Rheem Air Blower Motor Wiring Problem CompoundNetwork HVAC 3 11-20-2011 04:51 PM
Air Handler Motor Wiring brando1118 HVAC 13 06-18-2010 12:42 PM
Replacing a Condenser Fan Motor thothtp HVAC 5 06-08-2008 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts