Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-19-2008, 10:14 AM   #1

Share |

Swamp Cooler vs AC

Maybe someone can help me here; I do not know much about the topic. I am a college student (Comp Sci, not HVAC) and I would like to try and save some money on my electricity bill this summer. After doing some research I came across this forum.
My problem is, I do not know which would be the most efficient way to cool a 3 bedroom apartment in Boston. I do not know much about what the humidity is here. I have read that swamp coolers don't work well in some areas because of the humidity. So my question is; does anyone think that a swamp cooler in a large three bedroom apartment would be a better investment than maybe a portable air conditioner, if I am living in Boston, Ma. If anyone could point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it. I am just a poor student, and every buck I can save helps.

Thanks.

If a swamp cooler is, indeed, the best decision... what size/type of swamp cooler should I choose?

Last edited by mtcone; 05-19-2008 at 10:15 AM. Reason: Afterthought
mtcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 01:31 PM   #2

Swamp Cooler vs AC

My father lived in Phoenix for many years, and as hot as it gets there, he rarely used his a/c. It was always the swamp cooler and an attic fan, and his house stayed quite comfortable-one time when I was visiting, it was 117 degrees-and he did'nt have the air on!!!

That being said, it was my understanding that the swamp cooler was only effective in situations where there was very low humidity. I remember him saying that when the "dew point" reached a certain level, you had to turn your air on.