Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2013, 08:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


I have a 2001 Trane heat pump, model TWR036D100A, that I would like to install a Supco 3W1 hard start kit. The kit has 3 wires to connect. The instructions for the installation are pretty straight forward. There are three wires: red, white and black. The white wire from the kit goes to "H" on the dual run capacitor, the red wire goes to "C" on the dual run capacitor and the black wire goes to the "common" wire. That is where I get confused. Which wire would be the "common" wire? There is a BK/BL wire that comes from the compressor and is screwed to the top terminal marked T2 on the contactor. There is also another BK/BL wire that goes from one of the the terminals behind that screw connection to the NC terminal on the defrost control board. Would the black wire from the 3W1 connect to one of the empty terminals behind the T2 screw connection? Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit-condenseriii.jpg  

firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


In reading your question I now have some questions of my own:

1. Is this a 3 ton unit?
2. Should a 3 ton unit have a 3W1 or a 3W2 Supco?
3. Is there any harm from installing a hard kit that's too large or too small?

I'm not saying I think you have the wrong kit.
I'm just guessing you're near the line between the smallest and the next size up, and I'm wondering what the drawbacks are from having the wrong size.

taxmantoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


Yes, this is a 3 ton unit and according to the data sheet 3W1 is the correct kit for this unit. Thanks for your reply!
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 01:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


As stated in the original post I need to know the exact location where I would connect the black wire from the Supco 3W1 kit. The directions state to connect it to the "T common". Would the T common be on the right top of the contactor where it shows the empty terminal(s) in the photo I submitted ?
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:50 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,515
Rewards Points: 2,710
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


Look at the wire that is on the capacitor's C terminal that comes from the contactor. The opposite terminal of the contactor is the common for the compressor.

So if the cap is wired to T1, then T2 is the terminal you want.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
taxmantoo (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 07:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


beenthere, thanks for the great guidance. The wire (red) that is on the run capacitor's "C" terminal connects to T1. So, that means the black wire from the Supco 3W1 will connect to T2. That is the way I interpreted it. Just looking for some confirmation from people more knowledgeable than me to keep me from making a mistake. I appreciate it!
firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:00 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,515
Rewards Points: 2,710
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


Your welcome.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Supco 3W1 Hard Start Kit


As a follow up, I installed the Supco 3W1 hard start kit yesterday. Installation was very easy and the wiring as outlined in the previous post was correct. Before installation I verified the dual run capacitor was still within specs. Thanks again, beenthere!

firedawgsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard start for compressor bob22 HVAC 3 01-13-2013 07:54 PM
Adding a Hard Start Kit rgarcia1801 HVAC 11 10-21-2012 05:31 PM
is a hard start kit needed???? firedogut HVAC 3 10-08-2009 06:33 PM
Snapper Mower engine hard to start czars Tools 3 09-02-2009 01:38 PM
How hard is your water? How deep is your well? brokenknee General DIY Discussions 10 05-05-2009 07:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.