Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 08:48 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Here it is.
Attached Thumbnails
Stumped! Heil furnace.-image.jpg  

Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:52 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Also I am getting 28 volts with the unit on and just sitting. Is that what it should be? And by on I just mean on. Not going through the sequences just sitting at idle.
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:03 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,019
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


did you try putting old ignitor back on....that is exactly the ignitor that did not work for me..... that my or maynot be your problem...
Attached Thumbnails
Stumped! Heil furnace.-004.jpg   Stumped! Heil furnace.-005.jpg  
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:07 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


The one I took a pic of is the old one, but it is the exact same one I just put on. Should I get 28 volts at the gas valve where the 3 wires go in from the igniter?
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:14 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,019
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashpadgett55 View Post
The one I took a pic of is the old one, but it is the exact same one I just put on. Should I get 28 volts at the gas valve where the 3 wires go in from the igniter?
yes .valve controls ignition of burnners after pilot flame is proved..there is a click in the valve opening it up...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:17 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Sounds like bad gas valve then. I don't get that last click to fire burners. The weird thing is that the gas valve is only a year old.
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ashpadgett55 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-23-2012)
Old 10-23-2012, 09:21 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


And for the record I appreciate everyone's input on here. I own a roofing company so I will be helping people with roofing questions to return the favor. Great site to be a part of.
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:29 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Just tested the valve with the pilot lit and only got 15 volts. Stumped again
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:38 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashpadgett55 View Post
Hopefully this works. Here's a pic
Where do you check that valve for proper voltage. It is very similiar to one on a unit I am having trouble with.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:45 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,019
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


see if this will help you
Attached Thumbnails
Stumped! Heil furnace.-006.jpg  
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:55 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


What voltage should I have while the pilot is lit?
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:58 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,019
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


you could also try pulling the plug on control board p1 and plug it back in to see if maybe a loose connection...not what you want to hear...but it seems like another defective valve... follow that chart ......
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:05 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,019
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashpadgett55 View Post
What voltage should I have while the pilot is lit?
its a 24 ignitor ....24 volts...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:23 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


That's what I figured. I'm not getting that when the pilot is lit. It moves between 12 and 15. Hmmmm
Ashpadgett55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:30 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,019
Default

Stumped! Heil furnace.


dosen't seem right if the pilot is lit it has to have 24 volts to fire ignitor...

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, gas valve, heil, main burner


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
heil furnace ? grizzlyadams73 HVAC 3 04-10-2011 07:14 PM
Heil Gas Furnace Not Lighting kasi42 HVAC 21 10-09-2010 04:40 PM
Heil NG Furnace - Combustion blower never turns off PHRoberts HVAC 4 06-11-2010 04:37 AM
Heil furnace issue sbriggs_1 HVAC 19 12-05-2008 05:07 PM
heil furnace bbr67 HVAC 5 02-24-2007 12:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.