Strange Furnace Activity? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2006, 09:58 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

strange furnace activity?

Hello, all. I am new here, and need some advice. My girlfriend has a "Consolidated Industries" Quatro heating furnace. This furnace has never been serviced as far as she knows. Her ex-husband hasn't done it for the few years they lived here. Well it's acting strangely. First of all... I know NOTHING about these machines. But it seems to operate for a while & cut off. Right now it's not heating, she's cold, and the thermostat. is set @ 75... She just told me it works until it reads 62, and won't seem to heat any more?.
I just walked out, and it was making noise, as if operating? But will (I hear it) It attempts to cut on & run, but won't.... Just click & motor runs for a few seconds & off?
It is natural gas, and I THINK her water heater somehow runns from it also... Not sure, but could use some advice on servicing it.... Keeping it going for her & her 6yo. Son!
Any help/advice would be tremendously appreciated!
Thank-You all!................. shawn


shawn41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:57 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250

strange furnace activity?



mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 09:04 PM   #3
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500

strange furnace activity?

Hi shawn41

I am going to suggest that you call someone in on this one. It could take you alot of work with little to no results.

#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 11:18 PM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

strange furnace activity?

Thanks, Rusty! Yea, we have determined, after it was 51 degrees this morning! That it might just well be the thermostat too? She wants a programmable one for the house, so.......
She called a local guy for an appt. in the morning..... With gas? I just am NOT comfortable fooling around with that! NOT qualified!
Thanks again!
shawn41 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 09:23 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 06:10 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts