Static Pressure Befor Filter Or After - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2008, 11:05 AM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,463
Rewards Points: 4,572
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


He just said it belongs in pro tech.
Its still in resi, just closed to further posting.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 07:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Take a look at this link on static pressure, specifically the sentence under the static pressure tip. Since my unit was shipped with the filter , it suggests to include it in the measurement similarly to my service and facts document that indicates static pressure numbers are with filter.

I checked the footnotes and there is no other mention of the filter other than the title phrase that states "Airflow and watts versus external static pressure with filter"

http://www.bacharach-training.com/Tips/esp.htm

Key1
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 08:15 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Sounds like that is just an air handler they are referring to.
They state 'furnace". see link in last post

Key1
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:26 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,463
Rewards Points: 4,572
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Different brands have foot notes weather to include the air filter or not.
Not all brands include the filter.
Some just give you a PD to allow for the air filter, so you know what to allow if you want to use a media filter.

If in your service facts, it says to include the factory filter when measuring.
You should pull your media filter.
Then measure your static with the factory filter. And also measure its PD.
From there you can put your media back in, and calc your CFM from that info.

I don't think I have any service facts in PDF. So I can't read how Trane is wording it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:47 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


I ran the factory and the media and a bunch of other filters to compare pressure drops across different filters. (I can post all of the data if anyone is interested)....

At my current air flow setting both the factory and the media have a PD of 0.1.......at the 100% air flow setting both had a PD 0f 0.14.

I had been measuring my static as -0.28 for neg before the blower but after the filter and 0.44 for positive after the furnace right before the coil for a total of 0.72 (in the "fan only" seting of 80% airflow). Are you suggesting that at 80% airflow I get to subtract the 0.1 out of the .28 so my total is 0.62? Since my Service facts data states "airflow and watts versus external static pressure with filter"

Key1
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:58 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,463
Rewards Points: 4,572
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


No, you don't get to subtract it.

If you were using a filter that had a .4 PD. Then you would subtract the .1". When you designed the duct work.

I think your SF sheets are trying to show the cost increase of higher static.
Not what is and isn't accounted for in there blower CFM at static pressures.

Not sure I'm saying it right.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 11:03 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
No, you don't get to subtract it.

If you were using a filter that had a .4 PD. Then you would subtract the .1". When you designed the duct work.

I think your SF sheets are trying to show the cost increase of higher static.
Not what is and isn't accounted for in there blower CFM at static pressures.

Not sure I'm saying it right.
Got it.
Time for the next stage of static reduction...
Turning vanes.....

Key1
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:22 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post

I don't think I have any service facts in PDF. So I can't read how Trane is wording it.
I'll scan mine later and attach it.

Key1
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:35 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


I'm limited to posting only 100 KB documents so this may or may not be viewable...let me know. It is a JPG picture file. This data is only applicable to that one model number listed at the top
Attached Thumbnails
Static Pressure befor filter or after-esp-table.jpg  

Last edited by key1cc; 11-22-2008 at 06:34 PM.
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:38 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


I just tested it....If you click on the table and wait a little while you get a little picture. Click that and it gets much bigger...
Key1
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:08 PM   #26
Newbie
 
mandarinmint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


wow, thanks for the handy PDF version of the service facts sheet! Very useful!
mandarinmint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:32 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Quote:
Originally Posted by mandarinmint View Post
wow, thanks for the handy PDF version of the service facts sheet! Very useful!
Your welcome....however it is not that useful. Each furnace model from each manufacturer has it's own set of data. This data is only applicable to that one model number listed at the top. It is essentially worthless for all other manufacturers as well as all other model numbers within this manufacturer. Each time a new 90% or higher condensing furnace is sold, the installer is suppose to leave the service facts data (which is in the installation manual) with the owner. So all owners should have the correct data for their furnace....in case a tech needs to work on it he will have a handy and accurate reference.

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 10:07 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I think your SF sheets are trying to show the cost increase of higher static.
Your phrase above made me think about this from an entirely different angle. I don't know why I didn't see this in the first place as all the answers are right in front of my face. The problem is I have been focusing on one variable from the table (Static Pressure). The reality is there are 4 variables that are capable of being measured and they are all related. Airflow, External Static Pressure, Wattage, and Temp. Rise.
I ruled out airflow right away as it would have the highest amount of error due to duct leakage behind walls that I cannot account for. That leaves the other 3......
So today I plugged my furnace into a Kilo-Watt meter to show me the watts being used during heating. My furnace is locked into 1st stage on the medium airflow setting (see service facts table below). The wattage meter indicated I was using 365 watts (flucuated between 362 and 368) which is right in line with the table. Next I measured the temp rise which was 46 degrees again right in line with the table (which is 47). My total ESP measured 0.69 when measuring before the blower after the filter, again right in line with the 0.7 on the table! So I can now comfortably conclude that when the service facts document states " run ESP with filter" That just means with the filter installed not with the filter as part of the measument.
Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:12 AM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,463
Rewards Points: 4,572
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Will make a HVACer out of you yet key.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:27 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Static Pressure befor filter or after


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Will make a HVACer out of you yet key.

As my tag line at the bottom states.....


Advertisement

__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier 58MVC low static pressure alarm diy12345678 HVAC 1 11-06-2008 09:21 PM
pressure tank problem? steel Plumbing 14 07-03-2008 03:06 PM
Static Pressure: Rule of Thumb? rjordan392 HVAC 4 06-06-2008 01:55 PM
fittings and pipes sizes.. effect on pressure? cgerikh Plumbing 3 05-19-2008 11:37 AM
No water pressure in my pressure tank GordH Plumbing 6 05-18-2008 12:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts