Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 08:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Share |
Default

standing pilot gas usage


This spring, I replaced my 20 year old Rheem furnace with a new 94+ efficient model.

Trying to compile gas savings from my old bills and wonder if any of the PROs could approximate (cu ft) how much a standing pilot would consume.

Thanks.

V

veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 10:39 AM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

standing pilot gas usage


To keep it simple during saving calculations the industry accepted rate was 10%.

Hope that helps.

BTW how is the new system working?

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 04:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
To keep it simple during saving calculations the industry accepted rate was 10%.

Hope that helps.

BTW how is the new system working?
Would that be 10% of the input BTUs? The old beast was a 125,000 behemoth. Wow, 12,500. I can't imagine 10 times that little trickle equaling those 4 burners, but that large number will make my savings look better. Oh, well.

Got a Rheem Modulating furnace 90,000. A 75 probably would have covered me, but needed the 4 ton blower for a/c. Love that LOoooonnng gentle heat.

Thanks.

V
P.S., you needs to file down them teeth.
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
To keep it simple during saving calculations the industry accepted rate was 10%.

Hope that helps.

BTW how is the new system working?
Would that be 10% of the input BTUs? The old beast was a 125,000 behemoth. Wow, 12,500. I can't imagine 10 times that little trickle equaling those 4 burners, but that large number will make my savings look better. Oh, well.

Got a Rheem Modulating furnace 90,000. A 75 probably would have covered me, but needed the 4 ton blower for a/c. Love that LOoooonnng gentle heat.

Thanks.

V
P.S., you needs to file down them teeth.
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:55 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Those teeth are "Lady Killers". LOL
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 05:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Those teeth are "Lady Killers". LOL
O.K., I'll let the teeth slide, but when you say 10%, are you saying that doing away with the pilot saves 10%?

V
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 08:13 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by veesubotee View Post
O.K., I'll let the teeth slide, but when you say 10%, are you saying that doing away with the pilot saves 10%?

V
that was the hype when they went from standing pilot to spark.

All the furnaces that came off the assembly line were classified as 70% efficient,
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:00 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
that was the hype when they went from standing pilot to spark.

All the furnaces that came off the assembly line were classified as 70% efficient,
Well, not being a nit picker (read, pain in the ass), I went exploring on the net. Came up with a very interesting link: http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/...sti_id=6471521 .

One paragraph read in part: "Overall, elimination of the pilots would have conserved only 2.6% of the total gas energy used in this home (3.1% if the home was air-conditioned)".

So what I intend to do is subtract about 2% to my calculated other use gas consumption for the non-heating months .

Last edited by veesubotee; 11-24-2008 at 12:02 PM.
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:17 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

standing pilot gas usage


I see no need to justify my response to you. At the time the generation furnaces after standing pilot were all GAMA
certfied
to 70% according to US DOE standards. If you found something you like better than don't ask if you get a answer you don't like.


You would be wise to compare the Gama data to what you are now looking at. There are some allowances and dis
allowances
in design to consider.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 11-24-2008 at 02:20 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 04:00 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Different units/brands, had different pilot set ups.
Some used more gas then others.
Also.
That study did not test for the effect of the increase in infiltration that a standing pilot has on a house.
The uncrease of infiltration increases a homes heat loss. But that was not considered, or allowed for in that study.

That study is flawed in reguards to saving on heating and cooling cost.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 04:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
I see no need to justify my response to you. At the time the generation furnaces after standing pilot were all GAMA
certfied
to 70% according to US DOE standards. If you found something you like better than don't ask if you get a answer you don't like.


You would be wise to compare the Gama data to what you are now looking at. There are some allowances and dis
allowances
in design to consider.
Hey Lover, don't be mad. I'm was just trying to understand what you are saying. I misunderstood your original statement (70%) as referring to furnaces of 80% AFUE (80 - 10 = 70). Probably still do.

I looked at GAMA and it's way over my head.

My old beast was built in 1987. Don't know if 80s were around then.

What I was trying to do, was compare my old gas usage on a therms per heating degree day basis. I know that HDDs are based on average temperatures without any weighting, but over the period of a year, the errors should be a wash.

To try to get as accurate figures as possible, I used my gas consumption during the non-heating months as my baseline (cooking and hot water) use. I didn't make any allowance for the pilot which has been on year 'round. That was the basis for my original question.

So, thanks and sorry to have ruffled your feathers. I'll let you bite me in the neck.

V
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 05:56 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Different units/brands, had different pilot set ups.
Some used more gas then others.
Also.
That study did not test for the effect of the increase in infiltration that a standing pilot has on a house.
The uncrease of infiltration increases a homes heat loss. But that was not considered, or allowed for in that study.

That study is flawed in reguards to saving on heating and cooling cost.
Hey Been, how's the family?
Are you Talking about the efficiency standards Gama used to first assign the 70% rating and the later arguments that later disallowed jacket heat losses or the study the OP mentioned?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:00 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

standing pilot gas usage


The study the OP posted.

Families doing good. Thanks.

How bout yours.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:04 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

standing pilot gas usage


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The study the OP posted.

Families doing good. Thanks.

How bout yours.

My wife is sweating bullets over the so called "Big Three Bail Out".

She works at Chrysler and is worried sick if she is going to have a job tomorrow.

otherwise everything is peachy.lol
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:38 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 5
Default

standing pilot gas usage


I have info on gas fireplaces, which should be relatively close to an older furnace...the gas valves in most current gas fireplaces use around 30,000 BTU's a day = about 110 therms a year. A NG therm costs constantly change but can routinely cost anywhere from 1.00 to 1.50. End result is about $100 to $150 a year. We(fireplace supplier) usually quote $10 to $12 to operate a NG pilot.

New fireplaces have an option for electronic ignition, which eliminates the need for an standing pilot...and then a $10 a month savings. Homeowners have to determine if they want to invest in the extra cost to have the electronic ignition option vs. the cost of operating a standing pilot.

Martinglmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM
Lennox G11 Pilot light with not relight robbbb HVAC 6 07-17-2008 09:45 AM
Is a pilot light supose to stay on? simonb HVAC 2 06-11-2008 05:16 PM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 09:37 AM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.